HEATHER ANNE LOMAX (formerly known as Micheal-Ann) Announces New Album, Debuts New Single “Better Luck”

HEATHER ANNE LOMAX (formerly known as the artist Michael-Ann) has spent the greater part of the past decade putting her own spin on the Americana and Country-Rock/Blues genre. A strikingly authentic and fearless artist who’s based in Los Angeles and hails from Kansas City, MissouriHEATHER has announced plans to self-release her sophomore album ALL THIS TIME on May 1. Yesterday, February 4, she premiered the new single “Better Luck” via American Songwriter.

“Better Luck” is an explosive song about self-affirmation and strength, set to a mix of acoustic/electric guitars and soaring fiddle work with an insistent percussive groove and vocal chants. HEATHER instantly paints the picture: “Got a rocket/In my back pocket/Full of wishes/Better luck next time.” She says: “I just had the vision of carrying a bottle rocket in my back pocket when I was a kid in the Midwest. My brother and I used to have bottle rocket wars with our neighbors. It’s symbolic about the launching of hope, and how sometimes the rocket’s path can derail but still creates a spectacular explosion in the air.”

The album features 11 original tracks–recorded with the sonics of Elvis Presley‘s “Sun Sessions” and the American Sound Studios “From Elvis In Memphis” in mind–by producer/mixer Jason Hiller and was mastered at Lurssen Mastering by Reuben Cohen and Gavin LurssenHEATHER also enlisted an all-star team of renowned musicians to guest on the album including Zachary Ross, Ty Bailie, Ben Peeler-Weissenborn, Aubrey Richmond, David Goldstein, Chris Joyner, Rob Hymphreys, Rosa Pullman-Wurlitzer, Maesa Pullman, Ronee Martin, John “JT” Thompson, and Danielle Fife.

Look for HEATHER to open for the legendary soul artist Aaron Neville on March 14 at The Canyon in Agoura Hills, CA. Last month she brought her firepower opening for soul titans War at The Canyon in Santa Clarita, CA. More tour dates will soon be announced.


Track Listing

1. All This Time

2. Prison Cell

3. Better Luck

4. My Dog

5. Heart Don’t Lie

6. Comfort Me

7. Mr. Popular

8. Crumbs

9. Six Foot Under

10. See You Again

11. Just Like Yours

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

New EP From Southside Atlanta Artist, Prince Ink, Titled “Therapy”

On this project I pretty much laid out the things that I’ve encountered over the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.