Introducing YE!, A New Film/Soundtrack Collaboration From John Oluwole ADEkoje & Hank Shocklee

Jagun Fly Productions and Shocklee Entertainment are thrilled to announce YE! A Jagun Story, a powerful cinematic and immersive sound collaboration between Nigerian-American filmmaker John Oluwole ADEkoje and Hank Shocklee to be released next year. Starring Dakore Egbuson- Akande (Castle & Castle on Netflix, Isoken) and Tony Okungbowa (Bob ❤ Abishola on CBS, The Ellen DeGeneres Show), YE! is the origin story of Stellar (Egbuson-Akande), the future leader of the Ajumose, a covert, celestial league of brilliant women who use ancestral memory to reconstruct the colonized minds of black people throughout the diaspora. After her family is brutally murdered by child soldiers, the Ajumose guide Stellar as she seeks to avenge them. When she finally locates their killer, she makes a devastating decision that changes both of their lives forever.

According to ADEkoje, YE! is the first installment of a new independent African film trilogy “wherein a brilliant and consequently resilient diaspora create a universe of superheroes and adversaries firmly rooted in realistic human character traits in a franchise designed by and intended for all black people.”

Watch YE! A Jagun Story Official Trailer

YE! was scored by composer, sound designer, Hank Shocklee, 2013 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee and founder/producer of seminal hip hop group Public Enemy whose music has appeared in numerous films including Do The Right ThingAmerican GangsterJuice, He Got Game, and more. Shocklee designed the score to be experienced in an immersive Dolby Atmos environment and for the music to almost become “another character in the story.” His sound-design-as-score approach is part of the new wave of film composers subverting tradition and blurring the classical boundaries that traditionally exist between dialogue, music, and sound effects.

The YE! Original Motion Picture Soundtrack is a colorful collection of new music curated by Shocklee and creative sound team Teknimension. The 6-track soundtrack features a blend of Afro-Fusion, Afrobeats, Afropop, Afro-House and Afro-Hop sounds from emerging Pan-African artists from the U.S, Nigeria and South Africa. “The ʻYE! Original Motion Picture Soundtrackʼ is inspired and dedicated to the strong Black Women of the Pan-African diaspora located around the world and those that love them,” states Teknimension’s Executive Producer, Jo-Ann Nina. “As the character Stellar shows us in the film ʻYE!,ʼ you would be greatly confused to ever mistake a Womanʼs kindness for weakness for she will go to super human great lengths for what she loves.”                     

In conjunction with todayʼs announcement, Jagun Fly Productions and Teknimension share the soundtrackʼs lead single, “Sun Down” by Ninety. Based in Lagos, Nigeria, Ninety identifies as an Afro-Fusion artist blending pop, R&B, dancehall and reggae into a flawless hybrid. According to Ninety, “Sun Down” is about meeting the love of your life on a sunny day, spending the day together and enjoying each otherʼs company till the sun goes down.

Stay tuned for more YE! news in the coming weeks.

Listen to “Sun Down” by Ninety (lead single from YE! A Jagun Story Soundtrack)

YE! A Jagun Story Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Tracklist:
01. OWO – “Element”
02. Ninety – “Sun Down”
03. OWO – “Own It”
04. Shocklee Feat. Mizzle, Suté Iwar, Magnito – “Die For You”
05. Jackie Queens – “I’ll Find A Way”
06. Shocklee – “YE! The Score” (Bonus Track)

RJ Frometa
Author: RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Sunnsetter Announce New LP, Shares “Always Talk, Never Speak” Single

Today, Sunnsetter — the solo project of multi-instrumentalist, composer, and recording engineer + Zoon/OMBIIGIZI collaborator Andrew McLeod — announces a brand new …