Let’s Eat Grandma Announce New Album, Two Ribbons, Out 4/8 On Transgressive

Let’s Eat Grandma, the duo composed of songwriters, multi-instrumentalists, and vocalists Rosa Walton and Jenny Hollingworth, announce their third full-length album, Two Ribbons, out April 8th, 2022 via Transgressive. In conjunction, the pair share the album’s stunning title track “Two Ribbons” and its accompanying video. Two Ribbons tells the story of the last three years from both Hollingworth and Walton’s points of view. As a body of work, it is astonishing: a dazzling, heart-breaking, life-affirming and mortality-facing record that reveals the duo’s growing artistry and ability to parse intense feelings into lyrics so memorable you’d scribble them on your backpack. The band has been through a lot in the last three years, and Two Ribbons is the artifact that signals some kind of progression out of distressing times; a story of loss, change, and of survival; a proof of life.

Following “Hall Of Mirrors,” a glistening pop song about a beautifully intense moment remembered, “Two Ribbons” is a slow, melancholic moment of quiet and is the final song on the record.  It contains reflections from Hollingworth on how she and Walton are still bound together through their compassion for each other, tight as ever, though slightly frayed and world-worn. “‘Two Ribbons’ is a song I wrote to, and about, two of the closest people in my life, and how my relationships with them shifted over time through loss and life changes. It touches on the isolating experience of grieving, our powerlessness in the face of death, and the visceral emotions of grief,” explains Hollingworth. Directed by El Hardwick, the video features the stunning Norfolk countryside, a place of real importance to Let’s Eat Grandma when writing the record. 

Watch the “Two Ribbons” Video

Let’s Eat Grandma released their second album, I’m All Ears, in 2018. It came out to a blaze of critical glory, thrilled fans who’d been with them since I, Gemini, and won them interested new listeners as they widened their musical scope. They won Album of the Year at the Q Awards along with many end of year list placements, toured relentlessly, played a life-changing set at Coachella, and then… they disappeared. Both Hollingworth and Walton found themselves more involved in the production of Two Ribbons, experimenting with new sounds and diverse instrumentations within the studio, collaborating with David Wrench, the primary producer of I’m All Ears. On Two Ribbons, Walton in particular threw herself into the behind the scenes work and driving her sonic agenda, whilst Jenny sought to synthesise new influences to forge new spaces artistically for the group.

Two Ribbons can be heard as a series of letters between the two of them, taking the place of conversations as they try to make sense of the rift in their relationships. It’s a cathartic blood-letting and a devastating realisation about the fickleness of life. Though it is still very much a Let’s Eat Grandma album, for the first time there are Rosa’s songs and Jenny’s songs. Two Ribbons treads a fine line expressing the most intimate feelings of, whilst making space for, the different perspectives of two women; an album that says this is not the beginning or the end but part of a never-ending circle. It’s cyclical in nature; there is sadness, and pain, and joy, and hope – and knows that no matter what detours we take, we are all connected. 

Listen to “Two Ribbons”

Watch the “Hall Of Mirrors” Video

Pre-Order Two Ribbons

Two Ribbons Tracklist
1. Happy New Year
2. Levitation
3. Watching You Go
4. Hall Of Mirrors
5. Insect Loop
6. Half Light
7. Sunday
8. In The Cemetery
9. Strange Conversations
10. Two Ribbons

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

CADE Announces New EP, Shares “20 MISSED CALLS” Ft. Nate Traveller Single Via EARMILK | Full EP, ‘WATCHING YOU CRY,’ Out April 8th Via Ultra Records

Today, LA-based singer-songwriter/producer CADE announces his debut EP, WATCHING YOU CRY, due April 8, 2022 via Ultra Records. …