Tom Rosenthal releases brand new single ‘I Went To Bed And I Loved You’

Tom Rosenthal has released his brand new single ‘I Went To Bed And I Loved You’, the latest song to be taken from his forthcoming album Denis Was A Bird out via Tinpot Records / Universal Music on August 20th. The album is available to pre-order here.
‘I Went To Bed And I Loved You’ is a jubilant folk-pop track celebrating unconditional love and staying strong in the face of adversity. The highly moving video has been created by Tom and his fans who have submitted footage celebrating the lives of their loved ones who have sadly passed.
Regarding the single Tom says, “When I started writing an album about my Dad’s death my primary objective was to not make it a doom fest! So I got out my ukulele, probably the least melancholy instrument available, and wrote this uplifting banger. It’s a song of defiance, of facing the hardest moments in life head on, and trying to take them with a pinch of salt. It’s also about the enduring nature of love and how that doesn’t disappear when someone dies.”
Denis Was A Bird is a hugely moving record written by Tom as a reflection on the recent death of his father. The emotive album captures the weight of sadness and mourning, as found on the album opener and lead single ‘Now You Know’. In contrast it also celebrates moments of clarity with fond contemplation on happiness and the joys of life, such as demonstrated in ‘I Went To Bed And I Loved You’.
The album has been produced by Fryars (Mark Ronson, Lily Allen, Mika) and the record quickly progresses into big, bright and uplifting songs bolstered by a 25-piece choir, who feature throughout the album adding a stunning delicate vocal backing, yet make their boldest moments on the majestic anthems ‘Walking Up The Hill’, ‘Uncontrollably’ and ‘Little Joys’.
The grandiose album continues to expand further and is awash with magnificent strings, perfectly complimenting Tom’s exquisite songwriting and piano playing as found on ‘Letter Song’ and the title-track, which closes the album.


  1. Now You Know
  2. Walking Up The Hill Again
  3. Not A Catastrophe
  4. Half An Orphan
  5. Letter Song
  6. Uncontrollably
  7. I Went To Bed And I Love You
  8. Little Joys
  9. Tractor On The Motorway
  10. Thank You For Bringing Us All Together
  11. Denis Was A Bird

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Dennis J. Leise shares delightfully odd single “Hurry Up And Die”, in advance of new album, The World You Grew Up In Is No More

From his urban farm in unincorporated Gary, IN, Dennis J. Leise sees the world differently. Growing up …