Van Morrison will release ‘Latest Record Project: Volume 1’ on May 7th on Exile/BMG. His 42nd record and his most dynamic and contemporary album in years, ‘Latest Record Project: Volume 1’ is a 28-track delve into his ongoing love of blues, R&B, jazz and soul. However much you may love his classic albums, this new project proves that he’s living in the present, and remains an artist of integrity and distinction.  

“I’m getting away from the perceived same songs, same albums all the time,” says Morrison“This guy’s done 500 songs, maybe more, so hello? Why do you keep promoting the same ten? I’m trying to get out of the box.”

‘Latest Record Project: Volume 1’ is the result of our enforced period of isolation. Unable to tour, Morrison remained busy with constant songwriting, starting ideas on piano, guitar or saxophone. What emerged is a wealth of new material, which shimmers with a directness and vibrancy that comes from working with a rhythm section with whom he shares an immediate, spontaneous connection.

Van Morrison today launches the project by releasing the title track. Listen HERE. The king of Celtic soul’s one in a million, straight-to-the-heart baritone sits in the pocket of a warm organ hum, accompanied by sha-la-la doo wop backing vocal harmonies. Other highlights emerge at every juncture, from the saxophone-led R&B gem ‘Jealousy’ to the joyful, country-tinged ‘A Few Bars Early’ via the spirited Them-style garage rock of the self-explanatory ‘Stop Bitching, Do Something’.

While the album touches upon the romantic sentiment and late-night warmth that people love him for, the overriding theme is a straight-talking commentary on contemporary life. It’s a stance that informs ‘Dead Beat Saturday Night’ as it addresses lockdown life in matter-of-fact style: “No life, no gigs, no choice, no voice.” It also surfaces in the barroom rock’n’roll of ‘Where Have All The Rebels Gone’, which bemoans the lack of real independent thought, so often replaced in the modern age by mere posturing. And as for Morrison’s views on social media? They are summed up on ‘Why Are You On Facebook?’.

Two songs, ‘Love Should Come With A Warning’ and ‘Mistaken Identity’, feature lyrics that were written with the great Don BlackMorrison approached Black after hearing something in his 1969 pop ballad ‘On Days Like These’, as sung by Matt Monro for the soundtrack to ‘The Italian Job’, which reminded him of his own style. It led to Black writing ‘Mistaken Identity’, which, paradoxically, is the most autobiographical song on the album.

What ‘Latest Record Project: Volume 1’ most clearly demonstrates is this: if you want to really appreciate Van Morrison’s art listen to what he’s doing now, because he never stops. 

‘Latest Record Project: Volume 1’ will be released on double-CD, deluxe-CD, triple-vinyl and digital formats. It’s now available to pre-order here, with the song ‘Latest Record Project’ provided to fans as an instant download.

Visit for the latest updates and ticket details for live performances.

CD  Tracklist:

  1. Latest Record Project
  2. Where Have All the Rebels Gone?
  3. Psychoanalysts’ Ball
  4. No Good Deed Goes Unpunished
  5. Tried to Do the Right Thing
  6. The Long Con
  7. Thank God for the Blues
  8. Big Lie
  9. A Few Bars Early
  10. It Hurts Me Too
  11. Only a Song
  12. Diabolic Pressure
  13. Deadbeat Saturday Night
  14. Blue Funk

CD 2

  1. Double Agent
  2. Double Bind
  3. Love Should Come With A Warning
  4. Breaking The Spell
  5. Up County Down
  6. Duper’s Delight
  7. My Time After a While
  8. He’s Not the Kingpin
  9. Mistaken Identity
  10. Stop Bitching, Do Something
  11. Western Man
  12. They Own the Media
  13. Why Are You on Facebook?
  14. Jealousy

VINYL Tracklist:


  1. Latest Record Project
  2. Where Have All the Rebels Gone?
  3. Psychoanalysts’ Ball
  4. No Good Deed Goes Unpunished
  5. Tried to Do the Right Thing


  1. The Long Con
  2. Thank God for the Blues
  3. Big Lie
  4. A Few Bars Early


  1. It Hurts Me Too
  2. Only a Song
  3. Diabolic Pressure
  4. Deadbeat Saturday Night
  5. Blue Funk


  1. Double Agent
  2. Double Bind
  3. Love Should Come With A Warning
  4. Breaking The Spell
  5. Up County Down


  1. Duper’s Delight
  2. My Time After a While
  3. He’s Not the Kingpin
  4. Mistaken Identity


  1. Stop Bitching, Do Something
  2. Western Man
  3. They Own the Media
  4. Why Are You on Facebook?
  5. Jealousy

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Penelope Trappes Shares New Single/Video “Fur & Feather”

Australian-born Brighton-based musician Penelope Trappes shares the new single/video, “Fur & Feather,” from her forthcoming album Penelope Three, out May 28th …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.