Today sees Grammy nominated singer/songwriter Birdy release brand new single “Loneliness,” the second single from her highly anticipated upcoming album ‘Young Heart,’ out April 30, 2021 via Atlantic Records. The heartfelt new single is accompanied by a video, directed by Grammy Award-winning director Sophie Mueller which showcases Birdy facing herself in isolation – experiencing the push and pull of the lull of comfort and the starkness of reality – watch HERE.  

Birdy said of the track: “I’m really excited to share ‘Loneliness’ from my new album Young Heart. When I wrote the song there were two characters in my head, a mischievous one and another who’s being led astray. It’s not so much about leaving someone but more of a love song to Loneliness.” 

Written by Birdy alongside Jamie Scott, with production by James Ford – the track shows Birdy’s natural evolution and growth since her last album ‘Beautiful Lies’ (released in 2015). Since then, Birdy took a hiatus between albums where travelling to Nashville and LA gave her the opportunity to seek inspiration from enchanting surroundings and collaborators which helped shape the new album sonically. The record speaks of the pain of missing the person she still loves but also the acceptance of being alone.   

Young Heart’ is quite the departure from Birdy’s previous album, 2015’s dramatic ‘Beautiful Lies.’ Where Beautiful Lies was a fairy tale, Young Heart is a gritty realist portrait of the artist in pain, looking for the light. The songs on the album tussle between light and dark, between that vastness of space and the interior of home. The conflict between wanting to hide away and being compelled to go away, to new places and new experiences play out across the record.  

Album opener “Voyager” is a beautifully written song about the knowledge and pain that you need to end a relationship, but the no-man’s land where your partner doesn’t know yet. From there, the record speaks of the fallout – the loneliness, the pain of missing the person one still loves, the acceptance of grief being central to love and loss, longing for travel but the pull of the familiarity of home.  

Pre-order Birdy’s fourth studio album ‘Young Heart’ here:

Young Heart’ Tracklisting:

  1. The Witching Hour – Intro 
  2. Voyager
  3. Loneliness
  4. The Otherside
  5. Surrender
  6. Nobody Knows Me Like You Do
  7. River Song
  8. Second Hand News
  9. Deepest Lonely 
  10. Lighthouse
  11. Chopin Waltz in A Minor – Interlude
  12. Evergreen
  13. Little Blue
  14. Celestial Dancers
  15. New Moon
  16. Young Heart  


About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

AJ Smith drops his new “Fight Club” inspired video for his latest single “Better”

One thing to know about AJ Smith is that he finds bold ways to bring …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.