The National To Reissue Remastered Early Catalogue, Out February 26th 2021 Via 4AD

Twenty years on from the release of their self-titled debut album, The National are reissuing it along with 2003’s follow-up Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers and 2004’s Cherry Tree EP for release on February 26th, 2021 via 4AD. With all three records having been remastered at Abbey Road Studios, the 2021 represses stay faithful to their original artwork while their stunning new masters help make these much-loved records sound as vital as ever, further emphasising the early signs of the sound that would go on to make them one of the finest and most beloved alternative bands of their generation. Cherry Tree members can pre-order exclusive, limited split color versions here: Pre-order on black vinyl and CD here: Visit for more information.

The National
Originally Released July 2, 2001

Originally Released July 19 2004 Celebrating its 20th anniversary in 2021, The National’s self-titled debut album of sozzled Americana is a thing of beauty, laden with heavy hints that this was a special band in the making. Their first release, The National arrived two years after The National formed, a time when they were juggling bandlife with needing to hold down full-time jobs. And while nods to the alt.rock artists that inspired them (Pavement, Silver Jews) can be heard, so too are the beginnings of something all their own – Matt Berninger’s stunning and unexpected lyrics being pinned to melodies that stop you in your tracks.

The National marks the start point for one of the best bands of their generation with its new master helping elevate it to new levels. A great primer to a great band.

CD / LP (Black Vinyl) / Digital
4AD0312CD / 4AD0312LP / 4AD0312

  1. / A1. Beautiful Head
  2. / A2. Cold Girl Fever
  3. / A3. The Perfect Song
  4. / A4. American Mary
  5. / A5. Son
  6. / A6. Pay For Me
  7. / B1. Bitters & Absolut
  8. / B2. John’s Star
  9. / B3. Watching You Well
  10. / B4. Theory Of The Crows
  11. / B5. 29 Years
  12. / B6. Anna Freud

Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers
Originally Released September 1, 2003

The National’s second album, Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers (2003) proved a leap forward from 2001’s eponymous debut, showing a band adept at delivering warm embraces and gut punches in equal measure. With word of mouth now spreading on the band, critics proved equally enthusiastic. Pitchfork in their glowing review called it a “Gorgeous train wreck” that “Lives up to its blunt title (with) Matt Berninger’s self-effacing barbs matched by the band’s equally potent hooks,” while Uncut also became early champions saying the album was “A genuine treasure… Livid as a bruise, this is brave, desperate, beautiful music.” No longer a secret among those that know, Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers is an important record in The National’s discography with this new remaster showing that it’s more than standing the test of time.

CD / LP (Black Vinyl) / Digital
4AD0313CD / 4AD0313LP / 4AD0313

  1. / A1. Cardinal Song
  2. / A2. Slipping Husband
  3. / A3. 90-Mile Water Wall
  4. / A4. It Never Happened
  5. / A5. Murder Me Rachael
  6. / B1. Thirsty
  7. / B2. Available
  8. / B3. Sugar Wife
  9. / B4. Trophy Wife
  10. / B5. Fashion Coat
  11. / B6. Patterns Of Fairytales
  12. / B7. Lucky You

Cherry Tree EP
Originally Released July 19, 2004

Released a year before The National broke through with their third album Alligator, 2004’s Cherry Tree EP is a thrilling record which – thanks to its collection of delicate ballads and anthemic crowd-pleasers – sums up what they do best in under 30 minutes. Now a firm fan-favourite, among Cherry Tree’s seven tracks are now National classics “About Today” and “All The Wine”, plus a thrilling live version of “Murder Me Rachael” that reminds of the band’s fearsome early live performances. Cherry Tree can be seen as the record that marks the moment when The National had truly found themselves, a bridge from what went before to a band ready to conquer the World. And with this new master, it’s never sounded better too.

CD / 12” (Black Vinyl) / Digital
4AD0314CD / 4AD0314T / 4AD0314

  1. / A1. Wasp Nest
  2. / A2. All The Wine
  3. / A3. All Dolled-Up In Straps
  4. / A4. Cherry Tree
  5. / B1. About Today
  6. / B2. Murder Me Rachael (Live)
  7. / B3. Reasonable Man (I Don’t Mind)

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Slipknot Announce Knotfest Los Angeles With with Bring Me The Horizon, Killswitch Engage, Fever 333, Code Orange, Vended And Special Guests, Cherry Bombs

In a show of force for the band and the loud music genre overall, Knotfest, the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.