Dezron Douglas & Brandee Younger Announce New Album, Out 12/4 on International Anthem; Share Lead Single

Bassist Dezron Douglas and harpist Brandee Younger announce their debut album as a duo, Force Majeure, out December 4th on International Anthem, and present its lead single, a cover of the Pharoah Sanders and Leon Thomas classic, “The Creator Has A Master Plan.” A comforting album that cathartically encapsulates an all-too-familiar human experience of 2020, Force Majeure features 11 pieces performed by Douglas and Younger across a series of live-streamed shows from their living room in Harlem, NY, all self-recorded by the duo using just a single microphone.

Both active educators and acclaimed musicians in their own right, Douglas and Younger have established themselves as major forces in contemporary creative music. Douglas, a protégé of the great Jackie McLean, is known for his prolific work with Pharoah SandersRavi ColtraneCyrus Chestnut, and many others, while Younger, whose work has been featured in Beyoncé’s concert documentary Beyoncé: Homecoming as well as Quincy Jones & Steve McQueen’s 2019’s “Soundtrack of America” series, is also known for her work with Coltrane, and has collaborated with the likes of Moses SumneyLauryn HillSalaam Remi, and more.  

As the early effects of covid-19 plagued the citizens of New York City, Douglas and Younger did as we were all ordered to do — shelter-in-place. Facing the same sudden loss of livelihood as all their musician peers, their reflex as players and community-builders was immediate. Broadcasting via social media and spreading the word to friends and family, the duo hosted “Force Majeure: Brunch in the Crib with Brandee & Dezron,” a Friday morning live stream from their apartment in Harlem, where they performed songs for family and friends. The success of Douglas and Younger’s initial live streams turned their series into an ongoing weekly ritual for a fast-growing audience of supporters.

“We vowed to become a part of the resiliency of this city,” says Douglas. “You can take the work away, but you can’t stop musicians from being creative. Live streaming is just a part of it. The world as a whole saw that arts & entertainment is an integral and vital part of this ‘service’ city. We, musicians and creatives, are as essential to this city as the MTA is.”

From the earliest sessions, the duo worked alongside International Anthem to review the weekly recordings; together they compiled, edited, and eventually arrived at the stream-to-songbook of Force Majeure. Between the choicest takes of tunes chosen for the final album sequence, they put excerpts of their sometimes cute or comedic, often profound banter. Notably Douglas’s voice ends both Side A and Side B with off-the-cuff variations of: “Black Music cannot be replicated, it can only be expressed.” Like poetic bookends for Force Majeure, his words could also serve as foundational principles for the work, underscoring the importance of authenticity and integrity in music.

Douglas elaborates: “Black Music, no matter what genre, is exactly what it is — Music created by Black Musicians for the sake of vibrating on our own frequencies of understanding and empathy. I love all music, but I also recognize that music is a cultural and regional vibration. You don’t have to be Black to play Black music, but if you are out here making money off of Black Culture and have no empathy for the People and the Culture then you are even more part of the problem. Black Lives Matter because for a long time our lives didn’t matter and it was Normal — normal to society and normal to us as Black humans. We have the chance to do right by Mother Nature and we have the chance to do right by each other. We always have a chance. Change is inevitable, but is evil and selfishness and self-righteousness a part of change? Certainly! Is Love and Empathy and Humanity a part of change? Most definitely! What side are you on? We are on the side of Love.”

Douglas and Younger understand that the revolution begins with a transformation of the heart. And for the heart to be transformed, it must be lifted up. “This album is a testament to the power of music to uplift us through the most challenging times,” says friend, collaborator, and fellow International Anthem recording artist, Makaya McCravenForce Majeure is an uplifting suite of real, soulful comfort music – a spiritual salve, emanating warmth from the hearth of a Harlem sanctuary.

Listen to “The Creator Has A Master Plan”

Pre-order Force Majeure

Force Majeure Tracklist:
1. Coffee (intro)
2. Gospel Trane (Alice Coltrane)
3. Equinox (John Coltrane)
4. The Creator Has A Master Plan (Pharoah Sanders / Leon Thomas)
5. Sing (Joe Raposo)
6. You Make Me Feel Brand New (Thom Bell / Linda Creed)
7. We’ll Be Right Black
8. Never Can Say Goodbye (Clifton Davis)
9. This Woman’s Work (Kate Bush)
10. Nothing Stupid
11. Inshallah (Sting)
12. Wise One (John Coltrane)
13. Force Majeure
14. Toilet Paper Romance (Brandee Younger / Dezron Douglas)
15. Flatten the Curve (outro)

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Dennis J. Leise shares delightfully odd single “Hurry Up And Die”, in advance of new album, The World You Grew Up In Is No More

From his urban farm in unincorporated Gary, IN, Dennis J. Leise sees the world differently. Growing up …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.