Duncan Sheik Announces Live At The Cafe Carlyle + Releases First Two Singles

Singer, songwriter, and composer Duncan Sheik announced his first live album Live at the Cafe Carlyle, out December 4th via Sneaky Records / Missing Piece Records. The album is previewed today with the release of “Circling” and “Touch Me,” two live renditions of songs representative of different aspects of Sheik’s illustrious career. Originally from his 2015 critically acclaimed album Legerdemain, American Songwriter praised the Live at the Cafe Carlyle version of “Circling” as “stripped down but equally affecting.” “Touch Me” is from Sheik’s Tony and Grammy winning Musical Spring Awakening, and features guest vocals from Tony-nominee Kathryn Gallagher. “When Spring Awakening gets to the moment of ‘Touch Me,’ I start to feel like the show really coalesces into something with its own fulsome magic,” Sheik told Playbill. “Musically, I like the way you feel the various rhythmic subdivisions in the 6/8 time signature and the chord progressions illicit both yearning and hope.”

Listen to “Circling” HEREListen to “Touch Me” HERE

Live At The Cafe Carlyle was recorded during a week of shows in early October 2017, and features songs that span Duncan Sheik’s wide ranging career. The live album’s setlist includes his hit debut single “Barely Breathing,” songs from Spring Awakening (“Touch Me” and “Mama Who Bore Me”), “This Is Not An Exit” from his musical adaptation of American Psycho, and  previously unreleased covers of songs by Tom Petty, Radiohead, and more.

Live at the Cafe Carlyle is out December 4th via Sneaky Records / Missing Piece Records


1. Introduction

2. Circling

3. Half A Room

4. Memento

5. Such Reveries

6. For You

7. Lay Down Your Weapons

8. Forbidden Colours

9. Stripped

10. Face In The Crowd

11. Mama Who Bore Me

12. Touch Me

13. Afternoon

14. Barely Breathing

15. Fake Plastic Trees

16. This Is Not An Exit

17. So There

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Oscar Lang Releases New Single and Video For “Write Me A Letter”

Fast-rising multi-instrumentalist and artist/producer Oscar Lang has released a stunning piano ballad “Write Me A Letter” – CLICK …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.