Today, at 11:11am CST, Memphis’ most dynamic rising star NLE Choppa released his new mixtape, From Dark to Light, on No Love Entertainment/Warner RecordsChoppa is also sharing an enthralling coming of age video for the set’s first single, “Bryson,” a bass-heavy banger that finds him mulling the trials and tribulations that fuel the project. This new tape, his most conceptual work to date, and the accompanying visual show a newly contemplative side to the ever evolving rapper, a welcome shift in his sound as he continues to mature in the spotlight. 

“11:11 is an important angel number where you make a manifestation/affirmation come true,” NLE Choppa shares. “Every time I catch 11:11, I make an affirmation regarding my album. My birthday is 11/1. These are all angel numbers. The one in numerology represents new beginnings. So when I drop, new beginnings will form. It’s like walking through doors bigger than I can imagine.” 

Choppa chose his 18th birthday to release From Dark to Light, which feels fitting for a project that looks back on the road he’s traveled to become one of rap’s most exciting new talents. Therein, Choppa grapples with dark thoughts and emotions, embarking on a spiritual journey that leads to hope and light. By the end, he emerges as a more confident vocalist, songwriter, and stylist than ever before. Cuts like “Paradise” and “Done” showcase his newfound focus on self-improvement and joy along with a melody-heavy delivery and intricate, thoughtful bars. Other standouts include “Moonlight” featuring Big Sean, the highly-anticipated “Body Catchers,” and “Picture Me Grapin’,” which is a remake of hip-hop legend 2Pac‘s “Picture Me Rollin’.”

Meanwhile, the “Bryson” video, directed by BenMarc, finds Choppa draped in robes and surrounded by nature, offering a tour of his Memphis neighborhood. Choppa’s on-camera presence is magnetic, blending swagger and confidence with relatability. Watch it HERE.



1. Intro

2. Bryson

3. Moonlight feat Big Sean 

4. Picture Me Grapin’

5. Taliban 

6. Twin Flame

7. Body Catchers

8. Hear Me feat. INK

9. Man Down

10. Love Tonight

11. 100 Grapes

12. Done

13. Paradise

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Buy Branded Garments In WholeSale Rate

If you are looking to buy branded garments in wholesale rate, then you must go …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.