Mindchatter Offers His Thoughts with the Release Of Debut Album Imaginary Audience Out October 21

Today, burgeoning songwriter, vocalist, and indie-electronic producer Mindchatter released his highly anticipated debut album Imaginary Audience, an intricate solo project invigorated by his search to find self-acceptance and a higher purpose. The album is out on Mind of a Genius Records, the breakout label supporting established artists such as ZHU, Gallant, THEY. and more. 

Listen to Imaginary Audience here 

The album is introduced via the featured single “Choose A Side,” a delicate track that demonstrates sophisticated artistic direction from Mindchatter, as his distinguishing vocals carry the melody’s understated piano chords. Hinting at divisive social and political undertones, “Choose A Side” invites the notion of resisting ambivalence in the face of divisiveness. As the record continues, we’re made privy to more of Mindchatter’s contemplative inner monologue. Through tracks such as “Scared To Go Home”, “Night Goggles”, and “Days Go Slow,” we see him attempt to navigate his creative world and grapple with the presence of his ever constant Imaginary Audience. 

Mindchatter shares — “I perform for an imaginary audience every day. Every decision I make, the audience is present. It’s at the edge of its seat to judge the shirt I put on in the morning and cross out the lyrics I write at night. It’s there to snicker when I trip on the street and admire me as I blast gangster rap in the gym.

Everything creative and positive I’ve achieved has been when the imaginary audience wasn’t watching. Soon I’ll realize it hasn’t been watching this whole time… no ones looking, no one’s listening, no one cares… They’re way too wrapped up in their own imaginary audience. 

The way we censor ourselves based on fear of judgment is a major interest for me lyrically and artistically because it’s such a common but often unrecognized source of suffering.”

A self-proclaimed audiophile, Mindchatter chased his musical dreams through college, ultimately ending up at the LA-based production school Icon Collective. After launching his solo project in 2019, the NY-based creator has made a name for himself on tour with French electro duo Polo & Pan, remixing Channel Tres and AMTRAC, and earning a million streams across his maturing portfolio.

Imaginary Audience presents a look into an artist’s psyche fixated on the simple desire for self-improvement. This sense of awareness is embedded in the record’s lyricism, guiding the listener through an inner feud between self-acceptance and psychological warfare. As Mindchatter’s debut album, he offers Imaginary Audience listeners an intimate and honest introduction to himself and hopes to find like minded truth seekers along the way. 

Stream and Purchase Imaginary Audience here 

Connect with Mindchatter

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | SoundCloud | Spotify | YouTube

Imaginary Audience Album Tracklist 

  1. Blame Game
  2. Choose A Side
  3. Scared To Go Home
  4. Paradise
  5. Night Goggles
  6. Who’s Gonna Stop Us Now
  7. It’s Been You
  8. Google Thinks For Me
  9. Sink Into The Hips
  10. Days Go Slow
  11. Language
  12. Voice Down
  13. Referees Don’t Fall In Love

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Roots of Creation and Mighty Mystic Release The Anthem We All Need Right Now With “Light it Up”

Roots of Creations have created their second and most exciting collaboration yet with Jamaican reggae …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.