DJO (Joe Keery from ‘Stranger Things’) Releases New Single

Late in 2019, musician Joe Keery quietly unveiled his solo project Djo and his full-length psych odyssey, Twenty TwentyToday, he returns with the single “Keep Your Head Up,” featuring the spaced out psych rock influences that Keery has employed in most of his music projects, but also mixing in elements of funk reminiscent of Prince and George Clinton. The song is a much needed shot of positivity in an otherwise dark time. 

Later today, Joe Keery will join The Flaming Lips’ Wayne Coyne in conversation with The Talkhouse. Tune inHERE at 3 PM PT / 6 PM ET. Additionally, Djo (both Keery and co-producer and co-writer Adam Thein) will participate in a Reddit AMA on r/indieheads tomorrow at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET. More info HERE.

Keery began playing music in his teens after co-opting his sister’s guitar, but it was during his college years at DePaul University in Chicago that he formed his first band and began to seriously pursue music. That band was Post Animal, the heavy psych rock outfit that went on to release a self-titled EP and two subsequent albums via Polyvinyl. They also toured with artists like Twin Peaks, Wavves and Cage The Elephant and played numerous festivals including Bonnaroo and Shaky Knees.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

RISING LOS ANGELES COUNTY RAPPER REMBLE SHARES CLEVERLY MENACING NEW SINGLE AND VIDEO “TOUCHABLE”

Today, rising San Pedro, CA rapper Remble drops the playfully menacing new single “Touchable.” Showcasing his brilliant, tongue-in-cheek …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.