TOKKY HORROR Announce ‘Girlracer: The Remixes’ EP + Liverpool Arena DJ Set Live Debut

Liverpool/London collective TOKKY HORROR are pleased to announce ‘Girlracer: The Remixes’, a four track EP featuring all-new versions of their debut single ‘Girlracer’. 

The EP is out now via Alcopop! Records on all good DSPs and features cuts from friends of the band including Gullyteen, Dan Larkin, Phonewifey, and Bobby Starchild, with four additional remixes from Space, A.P.a.T.t, SIT DOWN and Zee Davine available exclusively on bandcamp.

The band make their first ever DJ set appearance from the M & S Bank Arena in Liverpool on 29th August 2020 for the Liverpool Digital Music Festival, and fans can livestream the performance at 7.30pm GMT on the LDMF website: https://www.ldmfestival.co.uk/

The trio also recently confirmed and announced their first ever full band live appearance for 20th March 2021 at Birkenhead’s brand new Future Yard venue, as covered by NME last month. Tickets are on sale now: https://futureyard.seetickets.com/

Commenting on the remix release, producer Zee Davine says: “We’re from a scene where everyone is a producer, DJ, or band, so it just made sense to let our friends have some fun with the single. A lot of remix culture now is about the business and furthering your own name, cashing in off each other’s fanbases. We wanted to just take it back to community and enjoyment. It was a way to connect with our scene while raves and live music are banned for the foreseeable future.” 

On the original version of the single, vocalist Mollie Rush explains: “I wanted to challenge the gender binary in a minimal way by expressing my attraction to the boy racer aesthetic. Since I was a kid I’ve always wanted aerofoils, subwoofers, LEDs and loud cars. I’ve always felt a connection to that and I just want everyone to know that these things are not reserved for cis lads in trackies. Be whoever you want, drive your gorgeous Citroën saxo and make people feel weird.”

TOKKY HOROR will be revealing further details and announcing more new music over the coming months.

Girlracer: The Remixes is out now on Alcopop! Records

Girlracer: The Remixes tracklist:

01. Girlracer (Gullyteen Remix) – Gullyteen 
02. Girlracer (Dan Larkin Remix) – Dan Larkin
03. Girlracer (Phonewifey Dubcore Remix) – Phonewifey 
04. Girlracer (Bobby Starchild Remix) – Bobby Starchild


29.08.20 – Liverpool – M & S Bank Arena (Liverpool Digital Music Festival)
20.03.21 – Birkenhead – Future Yard (tickets)

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Wolf Alice today release their new track “No Hard Feelings” via Dirty Hit/RCA Records, a …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.