Matthew Herbert remixes Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela’s “We’ve Landed,” premieres at Brooklyn Vegan

Tony Allen & HughMasekela’s standout track “We’ve Landed” from their critically acclaimed collaborative album Rejoice (out now via World Circuit Records, order/stream the record HERE) has been reinterpreted with a remix by world-renowned minimalist electronic producer Matthew Herbert. The remix—created in the wake of Tony Allen’s sudden passing in April at the age of 79—is premiering via Brooklyn Vegan; listen to the track HERE

“It was already a tough brief to remix two such important and wonderful musicians,” comments Herbert. “Before Tony died I was trying my best to make it upbeat and celebratory. But after his sudden passing, all I could hear was his absence. I started on the night I heard the sad news. The mix is in memory of Tony, an inspiring and generous musician.”

Allen will be posthumously awarded the Outstanding Contribution To Music at this year’s AIM Awards, taking place virtually on August 12, with “We’ve Landed” earning a nomination for Best Independent Track.

Having first met in the ’70s thanks to their respective close associations with Fela Kuti, Allen, the Nigerian master drummer widely hailed as the co-founder of Afrobeat (and long-time member of alt-rock supergroup The Good The Bad & The Queen), and Masekela, South Africa’s legendary trumpet player, talked for decades about making an album together. When, in 2010, their touring schedules coincided in the UK, the moment presented itself and producer Nick Gold took the opportunity to record their encounter. The unfinished sessions, consisting of all original compositions by the pair, lay in archive until after Masekela passed away in 2018. With renewed resolution, Tony Allen and Nick Gold, with the blessing and participation of Hugh’s estate, unearthed the original tapes and finished recording the album in summer 2019 at the same London studio where the original sessions had taken place.

Allen and Masekela are accompanied on the record by a new generation of well-respected jazz musicians including Tom Herbert (Acoustic Ladyland, The Invisible), Joe Armon-Jones (Ezra Collective), Mutale Chashi (Kokoroko) and Steve Williamson.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

PREMIERE: theWorst Release New Music Video For ‘Yes Regrets’ featuring Dana Colley

Today we are pleased to join forces with theWorst for the premiere of their new …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.