Alt-pop artist Lights has released new single “Dead End,” the lead track from the forthcoming dance-remix LP of the same name.The track, which is available now at all DSPs, is the first new music born from Lights’ remix project – alongside her live touring partner and genre-adjacent act – producer and artist, MYTH. With 2020 travel and touring on hold, Lights collaborated on the “Dead End” music video at home with family and her live production crew, enlisting husband Beau Bokan to direct the clip. The Dead End Remix LP is available for pre-save now, with the official music video for the title track streaming now on Lights’ official YouTube channel

Discussing this new musical arc in the artist’s repertoire, Lights explains: “I’ve been writing and singing toplines on dance tracks for years, but only recently did I begin to dive deeper into that world. It’s been warm and vibrant and accepting, I’ve been loving it.”

Arriving August 7thDead End also boasts two more original tracks and five remixes (co-produced by Lights and MYTH) that completely reimagine fan favorites, including a new take on Lights’ platinum smash “Up We Go” (see attached tracklisting). Fans will recognize the dance-infused interpretations from their appearance in Lights x MYTH’s remix set on the US leg of deadmau5’s cubeV3 tour earlier this year.

As support and main set guest for deadmau5, Lights noted, “I wanted to put a new twist on my music that would make more sense to that kind of show. I thought, man, I’ve been making acoustic versions of my records for years, I might as well make dance versions too; reworking a handful of the songs with my friend MYTH into a fitting live set – like a remixed performance – with live vocals and guitar. This led us to cracking open some new demos I had been working on and fitting them into this release as well.”






  1. Dead End
  2. Outdoor Sports
  3. Batshit
  4. We Were Here [Remix]
  5. Fight Club [Remix]
  6. Up We Go [Remix]
  7. Almost Had Me [Remix]
  8. Savage [Remix]

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

SKULLCRUSHER Releases Two New Tracks: “Farm” b/w A Cover Of Radiohead’s “Lift”

When Helen Ballentine – who records as Skullcrusher – released her debut EP, a collection of four impressive and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.