Love Fame Tragedy Announce debut album Wherever I Go, I Want To Leave out 10th July

Following the release of his second EP Five Songs to Briefly Fill the Void in March, Matthew “Murph” Murphy guitarist and lead singer of platinum-selling indie heroes The Wombats – today announces details of Wherever I Go, I Want To Leave, the debut album from his collaborative solo project Love Fame Tragedy, due for release on 10th July via Good Soldier Songs/AWAL.

A new single, ‘5150’, is also released today. Named after the code used in California law to protect individuals who present a danger to themselves, the track reflects on the temptations of escaping from responsibility. True to form, Murph uses the song as a tongue in cheek confessional, inspired by his own personal life as a father and husband. 

Speaking about the track Murph explains: ‘5150 refers to the California law code for individuals who present a danger to themselves or others due to signs of mental illness. In this case it refers more to how I occasionally feel a need to escape, regardless of the repercussions”

Recorded between Los Angeles, London and Sydney, Wherever I Go, I Want To Leave, sees Murph combine songs from his previous two EPs with seven new offerings, bringing together an impressive list of collaborators including Pixies’ Joey Santiago, The Killers’ Mark Stoermer, Bastille’s Dan Smith, Eleanor Fletcher of Crystal Fighters, Joji Malani (Gang of Youths), alt-J’s Gus Unger-Hamilton, Kanye West, Frank Ocean and Mac Miller drummer Matt Chamberlain, Arts vs. Science’s Dan Williams, Lauren Aquilina, Jack River and Maddi-Jean Waterhouse.

Having flown unhindered into the world since its announcement a year ago, Love Fame Tragedy is Murph at his most personal and creatively receptive, making Wherever I Go, I Want To Leave a gloriously uninhibited collection of synth-pop confessionals where hedonism, responsibility, anxiety and the fragility of love all collide. 


Love Fame Tragedy – Wherever I Go, I Want To Leave Tracklist

  1. 5150
  2. My Cheating Heart
  3. Pills 
  4. Body Parts
  5. Multiply feat. Jack River
  6. Hardcore
  7. Everything Affects Me Now 
  8. You Take The Fun Out Of Everything
  9. Please Don’t Murder Me (Part 2)
  10. Backflip 
  11. Sharks 
  12. B Team
  13. Pink Mist
  14. Honeypie
  15. The Sea Is Deep and The World Is Wide
  16. Riding A Wave
  17. Brand New Brain

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Old time Classic Rock, Modern Day Indie Pop, and Contemporary R&B is the blend that …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.