Ohmme Releases New Single & Shares Rescheduled Tour Dates

Ohmme – the Chicago-based duo of Sima Cunningham and Macie Stewart – share a new single, “Selling Candy,” and announce rescheduled tour dates. “Selling Candy” is the third single they’ve released that appears on their new album, Fantasize Your Ghost, out June 5th on Joyful Noise Recordings. Following “Ghost” and “3 2 4 3, “Selling Candy” is riveting.  The track, which has only six lines, is filled with Cunningham and Stewart’s harmonies, which soar over heavy, sludgy guitar and pummeling percussion. Eventually, the song ends in a noisey freakout.

“‘Selling Candy’ was pieced together from little snapshots of my childhood growing up on my block in Chicago,” says Cunningham. “It felt like its own tiny world where I could explore my imagination, enjoy independence from my parents, and meet all kinds of people, including the pissed off hot dog vendor from whom I bought a boiled hot dog from as often as I could get my hands on a buck.

Listen to Ohmme’s “Selling Candy”

https://lnk.to/SellingCandy

Fantasize Your Ghost is the direct result of the band spending more time on the road than in Chicago. It’s deeply concerned with questions of the self, the future, and what home means when you’re travelling all the time. Early sketches of Fantasize Your Ghost‘s tracklist were demoed at Sam Evian‘s Flying Cloud Studios in upstate New York through intensely collaborative and open sessions. The album was recorded over a six day session in August 2019 at the Post Farm in southern Wisconsin with journeyman producer Chris Cohen.

Though 2018’s Parts showcased their wildly burgeoning  influences and talents, Fantasize Your Ghost captures the astounding magnetism and ferocity of their live show.  It encapsulates the thrilling and sometimes terrifying joy of moving forward even if you don’t know where you’re going. It’s an album that asks necessary questions: When life demands a crossroads, what version of yourself are you going to pursue? What part of yourself will you feed and let flourish and what do you have to let go of? This is a record of strength, of best friends believing in each other. Unapologetic and brave, Ohmme are ready to figure it all out together.

Additionally, Ohmme announce  rescheduled North American tour dates for January 2021. Following their supporting dates with Waxahatchee in October, they’ll play a headlining tour in the new year. A full list of dates can be found below and tickets are on sale now.

Watch the Video for “Ghost”

https://youtu.be/hstB_R4pahwWatch the Video for “3 2 4 3”

https://youtu.be/n9E9ngQ9lVI

Pre-order Fantasize Your Ghost

http://joyfulnoi.se/FantasizeYourGhost

Ohmme Tour Dates

Sat. Aug. 8 – Ripon, WI @ Avrom Farm Party

Sun. Sept. 27 – Austin, TX @ Scholz Garten %

Mon. Sept. 28 – Houston, TX @ Satellite %

Tue. Sept. 29 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West %

Thu. Oct. 1 – Nashville, TN @ Exit In %

Fri. Oct. 2 – Saxapahaw, NC @ Haw River Ballroom %

Sun. Oct. 4 – Washington, DC @ Lincoln Theatre %

Mon. Oct. 5 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer %

Tue. Oct. 6 – Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere %

Thu. Oct. 8 – Winooski, VT @ Monkey House

Fri. Oct. 9 – Providence, RI @ Columbus Theatre %

Sat. Oct. 10 – Holyoke, MA @ Gateway City Arts %

Mon. Oct. 12 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Rex Theater %

Tue. Oct. 13 – Detroit, MI @ MOCAD %

Thu. Oct. 15 – Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center %

Fri. Oct. 16 – Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room %

Sat. Oct. 17 – Maquoketa, IA @ Codfish Hollow Barn %

Sun. Oct. 18 – Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre %

Sat. Jan. 9 – Kansas City, MO @ The Record Bar *

Mon. Jan. 11 – Denver, CO @ Lost Lake *

Tue. Jan. 12 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court *

Wed. Jan. 13 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux *

Thu. Jan. 14 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge *

Fri. Jan. 15 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza *

Sat. Jan. 16 – Vancouver, BC @ The Fox Cabaret *

Mon. Jan. 18 – Reno, NV @ Holland Project *

Tue. Jan. 19 – Bolinas, CA @ Gospel Flat Farmstand *

Wed. Jan. 20 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill *

Thu. Jan. 21 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst Atrium *

* = w/ V. V. Lightbody

% = w/ Waxahatchee

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

ALESTORM Releases New Official Animated Video “Shit Boat (No Fans)”

The notorious Pirate Kings ALESTORM hit the worldwide charts with their long-awaited long-player Curse Of The Crystal Coconut. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.