Fenne Lily Releases New Standalone Single, “To Be A Woman Pt. 2”

23-year-old Bristol musician Fenne Lily releases a new standalone single, “To Be A Woman Pt. 2,” her second song for Dead Oceans. Following the breezy “Hypochondriac,” “To Be A Woman Pt. 2” bounds with restlessness, an urge to start anew. Over a pacing drum beat and angsty, driving arpeggios, she maps the sound of knowing you’re in the wrong company. Throughout, Fenne inverts her more-often straightforward confessional style. Now the heartbreak is a background to her own internal monologue, advising against the pitfalls of her past.

Usually when writing about rage, most of the initial anger I feel towards the person or situation becomes diluted through the recording process, but this song was different. ‘To Be a Woman Pt. 2’ is a call to arms,” says Fenne. “It’s raw and furious, coming from a place of frustration and pain born from a loss of control and a breach of trust. The result of a manipulative relationship, it’s both a retaliation against subordination and a reclamation of power.

While “To Be A Woman Pt. 2” and “Hypochondriac” are introductions for most, Fenne’s self-released debut album, 2018’s On Hold, has stuck with many, quietly going viral, garnering play-after-play on streaming servicesFenne first took North American stages when she opened for Lucy Dacus and Andy Shauf. This August, Fenne makes her stateside return supporting Waxahatchee across the midwest. Then, she will tour across the United Kingdom and Europe.

Listen to “To Be A Woman Pt. 2”

https://ffm.to/to-be-a-woman-pt2Listen to “Hypochondriac”

https://ffm.to/hypochondriac

Fenne Lily Tour Dates:

Thu. Aug. 6 – Kansas City, MO @ Knuckleheads Saloon *

Fri. Aug. 7 – St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway *

Sat. Aug. 8 – Wilmington, OH @ Bellwether Festival

Sun. Aug. 9 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom *

Mon. Aug. 10 – Toronto, CA @ The Great Hall *

Wed. Aug. 12 – Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club *

Fri. Aug. 14 – Asbury Park, NJ @ Asbury Lanes *

Sun. Aug. 16 – Richmond, VA @ The Broadberry *

Tue. Aug. 18 – Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle *

Fri. Aug. 21 – Sun. Aug. 23 – Crickhowell, UK @ Green Man Festival

Thu. Sept. 3 – Sun. Sept. 6 – Salisbury, UK @ End of the Road Festival

Tue. Sept. 22 – Bristol, UK @ Thekla

Wed. Sept. 23 – London, UK @ Omeara

Thu. Sept. 24 – Leicester, UK @ The Cookie

Fri. Sept. 25 – Liverpool, UK @ Phase One

Sat. Sept. 26 – Dublin, IE @ The Workman’s Club

Mon. Sept. 28 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club

Tue. Sept. 29 – Glasgow, UK @ King Tuts Wah Wah Hut

Wed. Sept. 30 – Birmingham, UK @ Dead Wax

Thu. Oct. 1 – Manchester, UK @ The Deaf Institute

Sat. Oct. 3 – Paris, FR @ Le Pop Up

Sun. Oct. 4 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique

Mon. Oct. 5 – Rotterdam, NL @ Rotown

Tue. Oct. 6 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet

Fri. Oct. 9 – Copenhagen, DK @ Ideal Bar

Sun. Oct. 11 – Berlin, DE @ Hole

Mon. Oct. 12 – Munich, DE @ Ampere

Wed. Oct. 14 – Milan, IT @ Magnolia

Thu. Oct. 15 – Zurich, CH @ Exil

Fri. Oct. 16 – Frankfurt, DE @ Das Bett

Sat. Oct. 17 – Cologne, DE @ Artheater

*= supporting Waxahatchee

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

MADDOX JONES Releases Uplifting “World’s Gone Mad”

Rising UK singer-songwriter Maddox Jones follows up his debut EP (Headspace) with a heartwarming new single, “World’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.