THE CHATS RELEASE NEW SINGLE/VIDEO, “DINE N DASH”

Australian punk band The Chats will release their debut album, High Risk Behaviour, on March 27th via Bargain Bin Records/Cooking Vinyl Australia. Ahead of their North American tour, which kicks off next month, they present a new single, “Dine N Dash,” and its accompanying video. Following lead single “The Clap,” “Dine N Dash” is fierce, funny, and sweaty. The video, directed by Matt Weston, finds The Chats in an unfamiliar environment, eating a succulent steakhouse meal while embracing the piss poor status of their wallets and outright brazenness to get a decent feed.

We filmed at Walters steakhouse in Brisbane,” says Josh Price. “It was the best steak I’ve had. Definitely gave the bowlsie a run for its money. No mushy gravy though.” Eamon Sandwith adds: “Ya know you’re in a fancy restaurant when the chips and salad aren’t included.

WATCH THE CHATS’ VIDEO FOR “DINE N DASH”

https://youtu.be/I3jAJHRW_Yo

The Chats – made of Eamon Sandwith, Matt Boggis, and Josh Price – formed in 2016 while still in high school. Since then, they’ve released a self-titled EP in 2016 and 2017’s Get This In Ya EP, and have accrued a fanbase that includes Dave Grohl, Queen of the Stone Age’s Josh Homme, and Iggy Pop – the latter two who asked the band to open on their respective Australian tours. And despite being the subject of a record label bidding war, they’re releasing High Risk Behaviour on their own label (Bargain Bin Records). It’s indicative of a band that has embraced DIY culture since day one. Their determination to do things “our way” extends to their music, which is why High Risk Behaviour delivers everything you’ve come to love from The Chats – only more of it – and confirms their status as Queensland’s greatest ever export.

To create High Risk Behaviourthe band worked with engineer Bill Gardner in his studio on the Australian coast. It took nearly 18 months to finish and several, quick-paced sessions. “If we’d just done a week and slogged it out we could have had an album before now but we just kept going in there and making newer and better songs so it’s hard to put a stop on it,” says Sandwith.

WATCH VIDEO FOR “THE CLAP”

https://youtu.be/POM_98oi0oo

LISTEN TO “THE CLAP”

https://orcd.co/highriskbehaviour

PRE-ORDER HIGH RISK BEHAVIOUR

https://orcd.co/highriskbehaviour

THE CHATS TOUR DATES:

Fri. April 10 – Indio, CA @ Coachella

Sat. April 11 – Berkeley, CA @ The UC Theatre

Sun. April 12 – Sacramento, CA @ Ace of Spades

Mon. April 13 – Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom

Tue. April 14 – Seattle, WA @ El Corazon

Fri. April 17 – Indio, CA @ Coachella

Sat. April 18 – San Diego, CA @ Observatory North Park

Sun. April 19 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom

Mon. April 20 – Santa Fe, NM @ Meow Wolf

Wed. April 22 – Dallas, TX @ House of Blues

Thu. April 23 – Austin, TX @ Emo’s

Fri. April 24 – Houston, TX @ Bronze Peacock at House of Blues

Sun. April 26 – Denver, CO @ Marquis Theatre

Tue. April 28 – St. Paul, MN @ Amsterdam Bar & Hall

Wed. April 29 – Chicago, IL @ House of Blues

Thu. April 30 – Nashville, TN @ Exit/In

Fri. May 1 – Atlanta, GA @ Buckhead Theatre

Sat. May 2 – Charlotte, NC @ Epicenter Festival

Sun. May 3 – Washington, DC @ The Fillmore Silver Spring

Tue. May 5 – Philadelphia, PA @ Theatre of Living Arts

Wed. May 6 – Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club

Thu. May 7 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw

Wed. Oct. 7 – Amsterdam, BL @ Melkweg Max

Sat. Oct. 10 – Paris, FR @ Maroquinerie

Sun. Oct. 11 – Cologne, DE @ Gloria

Mon. Oct. 12 – Hamburg, DE @ Gruenspan

Tue. Oct. 13 – Berlin, DE @ Festsaal Kreuzberg

Fri. Oct. 16 – Southampton, UK @ 1865

Sat. Oct. 17 – Nottingham, UK @ Rock City

Mon. Oct. 19 – Dublin, IE @ Olympia

Tue. Oct. 20 – Belfast, UK @ Limelight

Thu. Oct. 22 – Glasgow, UK @ Galvanizers

Fri. Oct. 23 – Manchester, UK @ O2 Academy

Sat. Oct. 24 – Newcastle, UK @ Boiler Shop

Sun. Oct. 25 – Leeds, UK @ Stylus

Mon. Oct. 26 – Brighton, UK @ Dome

Tue. Oct. 27 – Bristol, UK @ O2 Academy

Wed. Oct. 28 – London, UK @ Electric Brixton

Thu. Oct 29 –  London, UK @ Electric Brixton

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

INDIGO SPARKE announces ADRIANNE LENKER co-produced debut album, listen to lead single “Baby”

Australian artist Indigo Sparke has announced her debut album, Echo, with its lead single “Baby.” The song features backing …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.