Ohmme Announce New Album, Out 6/5, North American Tour, and Release Lead Single/Video

Ohmme – the Chicago-based band of Sima Cunningham and Macie Stewart – will release their new album, Fantasize Your Ghost, on June 5th via Joyful Noise Recordings, and today present their lead single/video, “3 2 4 3.” In conjunction, they announce their SXSW appearances and a North American tour (find tickets at ohmmemusic.com/tour). Fantasize Your Ghost is the stunning and muscular follow-up to their 2018 debut Parts. Following intensive tours with acts like Wilco, Iron & Wine, Twin Peaks, and more, Fantasize Your Ghost is the direct result of the band spending more time on the road than in Chicago. It’s deeply concerned with questions of the self, the future, and what home means when you’re travelling all the time.

“3 2 4 3” tackles the terrifying realization of needing to make a change. The song opens with the two singing in transfixing harmony, “Looked in the mirror the other day / Caught my reflection / My mouth had moved a different way / The muscles were straining.” Their deft scene-setting and the way their disparate voices blend together heightens the song’s inherent anxiety. Its accompanying video, filmed in Mexico City and directed by Alejandra Villalba García, features the pair.

Sima and Macie explained to me that the song was about seeing the landscape/neighborhood change in front of your eyes even though you don’t want it to change,” says García. “I thought that the first half of the video should be about them staying still trying to resist change as the scenery around them changes quickly. The tall dark figure represents change and how it keeps getting closer to them until there’s no escape. When they fight with another version of themselves, the newer versions are the ones that win because they embrace change.

Early sketches of Fantasize Your Ghost‘s tracklist were demoed at Sam Evian‘s Flying Cloud Studios in upstate New York through intensely collaborative and open sessions. The album was recorded over a six day session in August 2019 when the band decamped to the Post Farm in southern Wisconsin, where Cunningham runs a yearly DIY music festival. With indie rock journeyman producer Chris Cohen and the idyllic setting just outside Chicago, the songs came to vibrant life.

Though Parts showcased their wildly burgeoning  influences and talents, Fantasize Your Ghost captures the astounding magnetism and ferocity of their live show. At times they reference simpler times, like summertime hotdogs and wandering the city, and in others, they are explosive, dystopian dance rockers. It encapsulates the thrilling and sometimes terrifying joy of moving forward even if you don’t know where you’re going. It’s an album that asks necessary questions: When life demands a crossroads, what version of yourself are you going to pursue? What part of yourself will you feed and let flourish and what do you have to let go of? When they sing, “Just walk out the door and / Don’t tell them goodbye” it’s drastic but also exhilaratingly hopeful. This is a record of strength, of best friends believing in each other. Unapologetic and brave, Ohmme are ready to figure it all out together.

Watch the Video for “3 2 4 3”

https://youtu.be/n9E9ngQ9lVI

Pre-order Fantasize Your Ghost

http://joyfulnoi.se/FantasizeYourGhost

Fantasize Your Ghost Tracklist

1. Flood Your Gut

2. Selling Candy

3. Ghost

4. The Limit

5. Spell It Out

6. Twitch

7. 3 2 4 3

8. Some Kind of Calm

9. Sturgeon Moon

10. After All

Ohmme Tour Dates

Wed. March 4 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg (duo) *

Thu. March 5 – Richmond, VA @ The Broadberry (duo)  *

Fri. March 6 – Savannah, GA @ Savannah Stopover Music Festival

Sat. March 7 – Cincinnati, OH @ Motr Pub

Fri. March 13 – Columbus, OH @ Melted Music Festival

Sat. March 14 – Chicago, IL @ The Hideout – SXSW Send-Off

Mon. March 16 – Memphis, TN @ The Hi-Tone Cafe

Wed. March 18 – Austin, TX @ Drafting Room (PMA) – SXSW

Thu. March 19 – Austin, TX @ Container Bar (Dr. Martens) – SXSW

Fri. March 20 – Austin, TX @ Cheer Up Charlies (Ground Control) – SXSW

Fri. March 20 – Austin, TX @ 2300 Coronado St. (Radio Milk Fest) – SXSW

Fri. March 20 – Austin, TX @ Flitch Coffee (Flitch Fest) – SXSW

Sat. March 21 – Austin, TX @ Kinda Tropical (GET A GRIP) – SXSW

Sat. March 21 – Austin, TX @ Handlebar (Tiger Bomb) – SXSW

Sun. March 22 – Dripping Springs, TX @ Chill Phases

Tue. March 24 – Denver, CO @ Marquis Theater %

Wed. March 25 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court %

Thu. March 26 – Fri. March 27 – Boise, ID @ Treefort Music Fest

Fri. April 3 – Iowa City, IA @ Mission Creek Festival

Fri. April 10 – Detroit, MI @ Jam Handy &

Sat. April 11 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Rex Theater &

Tue. April 14 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer &

Wed. April 15 – Holyoke, MA @ Gateway City Arts &

Fri. April 17 – Providence, RI @ Columbus Theatre &

Sun. April 19 – Allentown, PA @ Muhlenberg College

Mon. April 20 – Kingston, NY @ BSP Kingston

Tue. April 21 – Winooski, VT @ Monkey House

Thu. April 23 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club &

Fri. April 24 – Saxapahaw, NC @ Haw River Ballroom &

Sat. April 25 – Nashville, TN @ Mercy Lounge &

Sun. April 26 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West &

Mon. April 27 – Birmingham, AL @ Saturn  &

Wed. April 29 – Baton Rouge, LA @ Mid City Ballroom &

Thu. April 30 – Houston, TX @ Satellite Bar &

Fri. May 1 – Dallas, TX @ Sons Of Hermann Hall &

Sat. May 2 – Austin, TX @ Scholz Garten &

Thu. May 21 – Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line Music Cafe &

Fri. May 22 – Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre &

Fri. June 5 – Los Angeles, CA @ Zebulon – Record Release Show

Sat. June 6 – Oakland, CA @ Crystal Cavern

Sun. June 7 – Santa Cruz, CA @ Atrium at The Catalyst

Mon. June 8 – Sacramento, CA @ Harlow’s

Tue. June 9 – Sisters, OR @ The Suttle Lodge

Thu. June 11 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge

Fri. June 12 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza

Sat. June 13 – Spokane, WA @ Lucky You (Upstairs)

Sun. June 14 – Boise, ID @ The Olympic

Tue. June 16 – Bolinas, CA @ Farm Stand

*= w/ Wye Oak

&= w/ Waxahatchee

%= w/ Vundabar

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Elles Bailey Signs to peermusic Via Bob Harris’ UTAT label & Announces Forthcoming U.K. Festival Appearances

Elles Bailey — multi-award-winning, smoky-voiced, genre-crossing chanteuse and committed tourer and champion of live music – …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.