Lucinda Williams New Album ‘Good Souls Better Angels’ Out April 24th

Pic by Danny Clinch

Lucinda Williams unabashedly takes on some of the human, social and political issues of our day with her boldest and most direct album to date, Good Souls Better Angels out April 24th on Highway20/Thirty Tigers. Following the release of ‘Man Without A Soul’, the first powerful track to be taken from the forthcoming album, Lucinda today releases raw album opener, ‘You Can’t Rule Me’.

Listen to ‘You Can’t Rule Me’ HERE

Lucinda plays the following UK and Ireland dates.


Fri 14th                        IRELAND, DUBLIN, Vicar Street

Sat 15th                      BELFAST, Limelight 1

Sun 16th                     IRELAND, KILKENNY, St Canice’s Cathedral

Tues 18th                    WALLASEY, Floral Pavilion Theatre

Thurs 20th                   CAMBRIDGE, Junction

Sat 22nd                     GLANUSK PARK, Green Man Festival

On Good Souls Better Angels, Williams changes course and chooses to forgo the personal and narrative-based songcraft that has become synonymous with her name and instead speaks to some of the injustices permeating our society. The new songs cut straight to the core with frank and honest commentary on domestic abuse (“Wakin’ Up”), the constant barrage of news (“Bad News Blues”) the dangerous, quick to judge and convict aspects of social media (“Shadows & Doubts) and the haunting reality of the
“Man Without A Soul”.

Lucinda recorded Good Souls Better Angels backed by her remarkable, long time band, featuring Butch Norton (drums), Stuart Mathis (guitar) and David Sutton (bass). The rock- solid unit propels the music with both fire and finesse, particularly on the raw blues number “You Can’t Rule Me”, which kicks off the album with equal parts attitude and swing.

Good Souls Better Angels also features some of Williams’ most intimate and up front vocals on record. She addresses the pain of depression on the achingly beautiful “Big Black Train” and tenderly delivers a poignant song of hope with “When The Way Gets Dark”.

She encourages us to push forward on the path of promise and perseverance on the deeply soulful and moving album closer “Good Souls”. Good Souls Better Angels marks the first time Williams’ husband/manager Tom Overby is credited as a co-writer on many of the new songs. The album was co-produced by

Williams, Overby and Ray Kennedy, who last worked with Williams on her 1998 landmark album Car Wheels On A Gravel Road.


  1. You Can’t Rule Me

  2. Bad News Blues

  3. Man Without a Soul

  4. Big Black Train

  5. Wakin’ Up

  6. Pray the Devil Back to Hell

  7. Shadows & Doubts

  8. When the Way Gets Dark

  9. Bone of Contention

  10. Down Past the Bottom

  11. Big Rotator

  12. Good Souls

LP Only (Side D):

  1. Bad News Blues (Acoustic Demo)

  2. Pray the Devil Back to Hell (Acoustic Demo)

  3. You Can’t Rule Me (Acoustic Demo)

  4. Man Without a Soul (Acoustic Demo)

  5. Wakin’ Up (Acoustic Demo)

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Floorbird Release New EP ‘Fall Apart Anywhere’

Philadelphia emo/punk quartet Floorbird have premiered a new music video. “Pale Blue Dot” is taken from Floorbird’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.