Ahead of the release of their highly anticipated fifth full-length album Brain Pain tomorrow, Massachusetts punk-rockers Four Year Strong have partnered with Billboard for the first look at the music video for “Get Out Of My Head.” This is the final taste of new music before tomorrow’s release via Pure Noise Records and packs a heavy punch both musically and lyrically.

Watch ‘Get Out Of My Head’ here

’Get Out Of My Head’ is a song about a voice of self doubt that tries to keep you from moving forward or getting anything done,” vocalists/guitarists Alan Day and Dan O’Connor share on the new single. “Its about struggling to turn that voice off. You try and pretend its not there, but it’s so loud that it eats away at any ability you have to be who you want to be. It consumes you entirely. Its about doing everything in your power to shut that voice up and overcome. You know the feeling. “

Four Year Strong began conceptualizing the ideas for Brain Pain two years ago and for the past year-and-a-half have focused on bringing those thoughts to fruition. “We didn’t want to set a strict deadline for this album because we wanted to be sure we took the time to write the best songs possible. In the past our writing and recording was so dependent on getting something out in time to go on tour; this time we really had the opportunity to take our time and work through these ideas.”

In order to capture that sound the group enlisted producer Will Putney, who was an engineer on 2010’s Enemy Of The World and already had a relationship with the band. “We were really emotionally invested in this music so we wanted to go with someone who we knew would care about it as much as we did and Will was that guy,”  Day says.

Brain Pain Track Listing

1. It’s Cool

2. Get Out Of My Head

3. Crazy Pills

4. Talking Myself In Circles

5. Learn To Love The Lie

6. Brain Pain

7. Mouth Full Of Dirt

8. Seventeen

9. Be Good When I’m Gone

10. The Worst Part About Me

11. Usefully Useless

12. Young at Heart

Four Year Strong are gearing up to hit the road in support of Silverstein’s 20 Year Anniversary Tour in the USA before heading to the UK for Slam Dunk Festival 2020. 


Saturday 23rd May 2020- Leeds Temple Newsam

Sunday 24th May 2020- Hatfield Park

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Listen to Dezron Douglas & Brandee Younger Cover The Stylistics | New Album Out 12/4 on International Anthem

Bassist Dezron Douglas and harpist Brandee Younger will release their debut album as a duo, Force Majeure, this Friday on International Anthem. Today, they present new …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.