Jordan Rakei—the innately talented multi-instrumentalist, songwriter, producer and live performer—will release a deluxe edition of his sublime 2019 album Origin on March 13th via Ninja Tune. The release contains a wealth of new material, including a collaboration with Grammy, Oscar, Emmy and Golden Globe Award-winning artist Common. Arising from a long-held mutual appreciation of each other’s work, the veteran rapper blesses “Signs” (from Jordan’s 2019 album Origin) with his unmistakable tones. Listen to “Signs (feat. Common)” here:

Speaking about the collaboration, Jordan added: “I’m so honoured to have a track with Common. It’s insanely humbling to know that one of my favourite rappers of all time liked one of my tracks and decided to be a part of it! We had a conversation when I was in America on tour and he understood the track’s meaning from the get go. I remember walking to high school when I was about 13 and rinsing his albums ‘Be’ and ‘Electric Circus.’ It feels very surreal to say we now share a piece of music together!”

The announcement comes hot on the heels of Jordan’s amazing NPR Tiny Desk Concert and caps an incredible 12 months for the young musician. The release of Origin was met with widespread acclaim from the likes of Hypebeast, The Observer, The Evening Standard, Complex and GQ, and appeared in numerous best-of-year lists. He made fans of Nile Rodgers—with whom he spent time in the studio—Robert Glasper and Terrace Martin (producer for Kendrick Lamar, Snoop Dogg and Herbie Hancock). He sold-out London’s iconic Roundhouse as part of a huge run of worldwide headline shows and leading festival appearances including Glastonbury, where he joined Loyle Carner on stage to perform their collaboration “Ottolenghi.” Jordan is also scheduled to play a sold-out show at the upcoming BBC 6 Music Festival in London on Saturday, March 7th with Robert Glasper and Sudan Archives. See here for details.

Watch the short documentary ‘The Seeds of Origin’ here.

‘Origin (Deluxe Edition)’ Track Listing

Disc 01

01 – Mad World

02 – Say Something

03 – Mind’s Eye

04 – Rolling into One

05 – Oasis

06 – Wildfire

07 – Signs

08 – You & Me

09 – Moda

10 – Speak

11 – Mantra

Disc 02

01 – Borderline

02 – Signs (feat. Common)

03 – Always Coming

04 – Speak (Live Piano Session)

05 – Best Part (Maida Vale Session)

06 – Mind’s Eye (The Pool Session)

07 – You & Me (KCRW Session)

08 – Mad World (The Pool Session)

09 – Mantra (The Pool Session)

10 – Rolling into One (The Pool Session)

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


After attracting acclaim together across the media landscape for the track last week Friday, Louisville …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.