The first thing you’ll need to do after getting attested for drunk and drive is to hire a professional DUI lawyer to represent you in the court. During this process, you’ll need to make sure that you hire the best DUI lawyers available locally.
If it is your first offence, you might not know a lot about the process you’ll have to go through. If this is the case, then you can take a look at the below mentioned steps to get more knowledge about DUI cases.
Is Jail Inevitable In Drunk AND Drive?
Yes, you can go to jail for this criminal offence. That is because you can put the lives of other in danger by being ignorant on the road. However, first time DUI case usually causes less sentence (a maximum of 180 days in some cases). But this doesn’t mean that you should take this lightly. The sentence can quickly add up if you continue to offend. For example, for a 5th DUI case, you can face up to 5 years in prison, and that is a lot of time! But the best thing is that you can hire an attorney and get your case dismissed or get the sentence minimized.
Can I Lose My Driving License?
Revocation of your driving license is unlikely if this is your first DUI offense. However, if your BAC was found to be over 0.17%, your license might be banned for 180 or more days. During this time period, you won’t be able to drive. Additionally, if you have multiple offenses on your legal record, your driving license might be revoked for an indefinite time period.
The Difference Between DUI And OWI?
While DUI and OWI both mean drunk and driving in the eyes of law, DUI means driving under influence, while OWI means operating while intoxicated. OWI is a specific term that the state of Michigan uses to handle and classify the drunk and drive cases. “Operating” covers much wider range of actions as compared to “Driving”. For example, if you’re drinking in a parked vehicle in Michigan, you can be arrested for a DUI.
Is Hiring A DUI Attorney Worth It?
Yes, you should do this without any delay. Hiring an experiences DUI lawyer can benefit you a lot in a DUI case. The lawyer can freely travel anywhere to collect the evidences and make your case stronger while you’re arrested. The lawyer can ise their expertise to minimize your sentence, and if possible, get the case dismissed. That is very important, because if you receive a sentence for drunk and drive, this might negatively affect your future job opportunities. So, you must hire a Montgomery County DUI Lawyer to defend your case.
You are permitted by law also to defend you own case, or avail a public defender if you can’t afford a DUI lawyer. But never make the mistake of availing wither of these options, because you don’t have any knowledge of the legalities of the whole process, and the public defenders are simply too busy to focus on an individual case.