Shopping Release New Single/Video, “For Your Pleasure”

Shopping releases a new single/video, “For Your Pleasure,” from All Or Nothing, their new album out February 7th via FatCat Records. The songs that make up All or Nothing are the band’s boldest yet; confident, elastic, streamlined grooves that crackle with energy and intention. Along with cleaner, new production values, ‘80s synths and electronic percussion add new textures to their signature minimalist dynamic. Following the lead single “Initiative,” ”For Your Pleasure” is frenetic and propulsive. The accompanying video was directed by Lessa Millet and features several notable musicians,  including Sam SparroJanelane, and members of OughtFrench Vanilla and Mo Dotti.

Watch Video for Shopping’s “For Your Pleasure” –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9pBOBhq0DHQ

“‘For Your Pleasure’ is a song about frustration, the feeling of always wanting more, needing material things to distract or gratify us,” says Shopping“It’s about consumerism but also searching for meaning in life. That feeling of longing that never really goes away even when you have the things, the job, the status or the person you thought you wanted. I think people who create music or art know what that feels like particularly.” 

Director Lessa Millet elaborates: “When I first heard the song I immediately felt like it had this amazing gay club anthem quality. I think dressing up, looking fabulous, and going to a party to dance and be surrounded by other fabulously dressed queers and weirdos is a huge part of this community. It’s this thing that sometimes is lacking in your everyday life, but you get to have it in these special places. To feel great about who you are, and feel loved and seen and understood. I wanted the video to be honest and authentic. Everyone in the video is basically playing themselves.”

To write All Or Nothing, guitarist Rachel Aggs (Trash Kit, Sacred Paws), drummer Andrew Milk (Current Affairs), and Billy Easter (Wet Dog) returned to London for an intense, 10-day period. Then, they teamed up with US-based producers Davey Warsop to record and Nick Sylvester to mix the record in Los Angeles. All Or Nothing sees Shopping experiment further with the sonic additions that coloured 2018’s The Official Body, shifting their stripped-down ethos to one that took a leap into pop production. The trio’s vision – deeply queer; political by default – place them in a radical lineage of dance, a continuum connecting disco and post-punk to Chicago house and EDM.

Following shows in the UK next month, Shopping will bring their live show stateside in March. Tickets are available now and all dates can be found below.

Watch Video For Shopping’s “Initiative” –

https://youtu.be/8Owoq6vVkUs

Pre-order All Or Nothing:

https://fat-cat.co.uk/release/shopping/all-or-nothing

Shopping Tour Dates (new dates in bold):

Fri. Feb. 7 – London, UK @ Rough Trade East

Sun. Feb. 9 – Bristol, UK @ Rough Trade Bristol

Mon. Feb. 10 – Nottingham, UK @ Rough Trade Nottingham

Thu. March 5 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios *

Fri. March 6 – Seattle, WA @ Sunset Tavern *

Sat. March 7 – Vancouver, BC @ The Biltmore *

Mon. March 9 – Reno, NV @ Holland Project *

Tue. March 10 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop *

Wed. March 11 – Los Angeles, CA @ 1720 *

Thu. March 12 – San Diego, CA @ UCSD *

Sat. March 14 – Tucson, AZ @ Club Congress (Spring Thing) *

Mon. March 16 – Sat. March 21 – Austin, TX @SXSW

Sat. March 21 – Dallas, TX @ The Blue Light (Not So Fun Wknd)

Mon. March 23 – Tallahassee, FL @ The Bark *

Tue. March 24 – Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade – Purgatory *

Wed. March 25 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook *

Thu. March 26 – Washington, DC @ DC9 *

Fri. March 27 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle *

Sat. March 28 – Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere *

Sun. March 29 – Portsmouth, NH @ The Press Room *

Tue. March 31 – Toronto, ON @ The Monarch *

Thu. April 2 – Detroit, MI @ Deluxx Fluxx *

Fri. April 3 – Fort Wayne, IN @ The Brass Rail *

Sat. April 4 – Chicago, IL @ Subterranean *

Sun. April 5 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry *

Tue. April 7 – St. Louis, MO @ Sinkhole *

Wed. April 8 – Lawrence, KS @ White Schoolhouse *

Thu. April 9 – Denver, CO @ Hi Dive *

Fri. April 10 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court *

Wed. April 29 – Edinburgh, UK @ Sneaky Pete’s

Thu. April 30 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club

Fri. May 1 – Glasgow, UK @ Audio

Tue. May 5 – London, UK @ The Lexington

Wed. May 6 – Paris, FR @ Supersonic

Fri. May 8 – Utrecht, NL @ ACU

Sat. May 9 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow (SkyBar)

Sun. May 10 – Copenhagen, DK @ VEGA Ideal Bar

Mon. May 11 – Berlin, DE @ Urban Spree

Wed. May 13 – Leipzig, DE @ TBA

Thu. May 14 – Vienna, AT @ Fluc Café

Fri. May 15 – Prague, CZ @ Meetfactory

Sat. May 16 – Munich, DE @ Milla

Sun. May 17 – Bern, CH @ Reitschule/Rössli

Tue. May 19 – Winterhur, CH @ Albani

Thu. May 21 – Luxembourg, LU @ De Gudde Wellen

Fri. May 22 – Cologne, DE @ Bumann & Sohn

Sat. May 23 – Offenbach, DE @ Hafen 2

* = w/ Automatic

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Listen to Dezron Douglas & Brandee Younger Cover The Stylistics | New Album Out 12/4 on International Anthem

Bassist Dezron Douglas and harpist Brandee Younger will release their debut album as a duo, Force Majeure, this Friday on International Anthem. Today, they present new …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.