Riding the waves of his success with Anathema’s latest album The Optimist, which included an extensive headline tour, multiple summer music festivals and an Album of the Year nomination at the 2017 Progressive Music Awards, Daniel Cavanagh released his new solo album, Monochrome. Now he includes four new studio recordings featuring two newly recorded acoustic versions of album songs (LISTEN TO “THE SILENT FLIGHT OF THE RAVEN WINGED HOURS (ACOUSTIC)” HEREand two brand new songs “Found” and “Scandinavia” on this special extended edition of the album – Monochrome / Colour.

Inspired by internal feelings of love and loss, Monochrome is a deeply reflective and personal offering. Cavanagh elaborates: “The album has a late night, candlelit feeling, evoking the light of dusk as the summer sun sinks below the horizon, setting the scene for thoughts and meditations that many people will relate to.

“A lot of this material could easily have made it on to the last Anathema album or any future album; that’s how highly the band rate it. There are several highlights: “The Exorcist” and “The Silent Flight of the Raven Winged Hours” are among some of my best works of the last decade. Taking them from the band was not an easy decision but I am glad; they’re so personal as to not need more input.”

Monochrome features Anneke Van Giersbergen – ex-vocalist for The Gathering, who has since sung with Devin TownsendÁrstíðirAnathema and Arjen Lucassen – and the exceptionally talented Anna Phoebe provides violin on three of the album tracks. Recorded at Grammy Award-winning Parr Street Studios, engineered by Andrea Wright, mastered by Anathema’s Daniel Cardoso, and with artwork by illustrator Danny Branscombe, this album is a special addition to the Kscope family. The album is being released on CD & digitally and is available to order HERE.

1. The Exorcist (6:43)

2. This Music (4:50)

3. Soho (7:39)

4. The Silent Flight Of The Raven Winged Hours (9:03)

5. Dawn (2:42)

6. Oceans Of Time (8:14)

7. Some Dreams Come True (8:34)

Bonus Tracks

8. The Exorcist (Acoustic) (5:59)

9. The Silent Flight of the Raven Winged Hours (Acoustic) (7:07)

10. Found (5:09)

11. Scandinavia (7:47)

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Floorbird Release New EP ‘Fall Apart Anywhere’

Philadelphia emo/punk quartet Floorbird have premiered a new music video. “Pale Blue Dot” is taken from Floorbird’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.