Dan Deacon Releases New Single/Video, “Become A Mountain”

Today, Dan Deacon releases “Become A Mountain,” a new single/video from Mystic Familiar, his forthcoming album out January 31st on Domino. Following lead single “Sat By A Tree,” “an energetic bed of sonic bliss” (Paste), album opener “Become A Mountain” is a startlingly vulnerable shift in a songbook abundant with characters, metaphors, and distorted vocals. For the first time ever on record, Deacon presents his natural singing voice, unprocessed and with only minimal, all-acoustic accompaniment. Its animated video was created by Spain-based studio Rapapawn.

“During the 4 years over which I composed the songs that became Mystic Familiar, I began going to therapy and started a meditation practice. I felt raw and vulnerable while making this album, and I wanted the music to reflect that.

Like many people who’ve been in a dark mindset for a long time, self-compassion and non-judgmental thinking were a real challenge for me, entirely new habits that needed to be learned  basically from scratch. When I would try to embrace having positive thoughts, they didn’t feel like my own, but rather another entity’s thoughts trying to speak to me. While writing, I began thinking of these thoughts as a Mystic Familiar (my own personal supernatural companion) trying to communicate with me. Externalizing the thoughts made them easier to fully realize and reflect upon.

The lyrics in ‘Become A Mountain’ lay out the framework for the album’s overall concept: a Narrator and their Mystic Familiar. Our Narrator, in the opening verse and choruses, is trying to learn how to be self-compassionate, to live a life in the present while being able to deal with self-doubt and anxiety in a lifetime of great flux and foundational transformations. Meanwhile, our Mystic Familiar, in verse two and the pre-choruses, tries to help guide the transformations of our narrator through mantras coaxing me to be present in the now, even while also being an element of chaos itself.”

Since 2015’s Gliss Riffer, Deacon has scored eight films – including recently-released HBO Documentary, Well Groomed, and ESPN Films 30 for 30 Short “Subject to Review,” collaborated with the NYC Ballet’s resident choreographer Justin Peck on The Times Are Racingwhich will be performed again in February by Chicago’s prestigious Joffrey Ballet,  and performed expanded arrangements of his music with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra. These collaborations have had a great impact on Mystic Familiar.

In support of Mystic Familiar, Deacon will embark on a lengthy North American tour, starting next month. He will be joined by Ed Schrader’s Music Beat on tour for the first time ever. To celebrate its release, Deacon will be in-store at Rough Trade East, London for a special on-stage Mystic Familiar masterclass and album signing (more info can be found here). Additionally, Dan will be appearing on NPR’s live puzzle and pop culture show, Ask Me Another. This will be recorded live at the Bell House in Brooklyn on Feb. 19th, tickets can be purchased here. A full list of dates can be found below and all tickets are on sale now.

Watch Dan Deacon’s “Become A Mountain” Video –

http://smarturl.it/BecomeAMountainYT

Watch “Sat By A Tree” Video –

https://smarturl.it/SatByATreeYT

Watch Episode 1 of Behind Mystic Familiar –

https://twitter.com/ebaynetflix/status/1197207503249059841

Watch Episode 2 of Behind Mystic Familiar –

https://twitter.com/ebaynetflix/status/1204786566281015308

Pre-order Mystic Familiar –

https://smarturl.it/MysticFamiliar

Dan Deacon Tour Dates:

Thu. Jan. 30 – London, UK @ Rough Trade East (album signing & record release)

Fri. Jan. 31 – Dublin, IE @ Grand Social

Sat. Feb. 1 – Glasgow, UK @ Classic Grand

Sun. Feb 2 – Berlin, DE @ CTM

Tue. Feb. 4 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell

Thu. Feb. 6 – London, UK @ Scala

Sat. Feb 8 – Genea, CH @ Antigel Festival

Mon. Feb. 10 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie

Wed. Feb. 26 – Charlottesville, VA @ The Southern *

Thu. Feb. 27 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle *

Fri. Feb. 28 – Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse*

Sat. Feb. 29 –  Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle *

Sun. March 1 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement East *

Tue. March 3 – New Orleans, LA @ One Eyed Jacks *

Thu. March 5 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall *

Fri. March 6 – San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger *

Sat. March 7 – Austin, TX @ Scoot Inn *

Sun. March 8 – Dallas, TX @ Deep Ellum Art Co. *

Tue. March 10 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Crescent Ballroom *

Wed. March 11 – San Diego, CA – Music Box *

Thu. March 12 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory *

Fri. March 13 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Regent Theater *

Sat. March 14 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore *

Mon. March 16 – Sacramento, CA @ Harlow’s *

Thu. March 19 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom *

Fri. March 20 – Seattle, WA @ Neptune *

Sat. March 21 – Vancouver, BC @ VENUE *

Tue. March 24 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux *

Wed. March 25 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge *

Fri. March 27 – Santa Fe, NM @ Meow Wolf *

Sat. March 28 – Englewood, CO @ Gothic Theatre *

Mon. March 30 – Lawrence, KS @ Granada Theater *

Tue. March 31 – St. Louis, MO @ The Ready Room *

Wed. April 1 – East Moline, IL @ The Rust Belt *

Thu. April 2 – Chicago, IL @ Metro *

Fri. April 3 – Minneapolis, MN @ Varsity Theater *

Sat. April 4 – Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon *

Thu. April 16 – Millvale, PA @ Mr. Smalls Theatre *

Fri. April 17 – Lakewood, OH @ Mahall’s *

Sat. April 18 – Cincinnati, OH @ Urban Artifact *

Sun. April 19 – Louisville, KY @ Headliner’s Music Hall *

Tue. April 21 – Indianapolis, IN @ HI-FI Indianapolis *

Wed. April 22 – Columbus, OH @ Skully’s Music Diner *

Thu. April 23 – Detroit, MI @ Museum of Contemporary Art Detroit *

Fri. April 24 – Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace *

Sat. April 25 –  Ithaca, NY @ The Haunt *

Sun. April 26 – Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club *

Tue. April 28 – Portland, ME @ SPACE Gallery *

Wed. April 29 – Portsmouth, NH @ 3S Artspace *

Thu. April 30 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts *

Fri. May 1 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel *

Sat. May 2 – Washington, DC @  9:30 Club *

Fri. Aug. 7 – Malaga, ES @ Canela Party

*= w/ Ed Schrader’s Music Beat

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

MADDOX JONES Releases Uplifting “World’s Gone Mad”

Rising UK singer-songwriter Maddox Jones follows up his debut EP (Headspace) with a heartwarming new single, “World’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.