Morrissey announces new album ‘I Am Not A Dog On A Chain’

Morrissey is set to release his 13th solo studio album, ‘I Am Not A Dog On A Chain’, on March 20th. The album represents his third release via BMG and follows last year’s covers album ‘California Son’, which entered the UK charts at #4.

‘I Am Not A Dog On A Chain’was produced by the Grammy Award-winning producer Joe Chicarelli (BeckThe StrokesThe Killers). It was recorded during sessions at Studio La FabriqueinSaint-Rémy-de-ProvenceFranceand Sunset Soundin HollywoodCalifornia.

“I have now produced four studio albums for Morrissey,” said Chicarelli“This is his boldest and most adventurous album yet. He has pushed the boundaries yet again – both musically and lyrically. And once again proving that as a songwriter and singer, he is in his own category. In truth, no one can be Morrissey but… Morrissey!”

Morrissey has launched the album by sharing its lead single ‘Bobby, Don’t You Think They Know?’ The track features the Motown legend Thelma Houston, who is perhaps best known for her interpretation of ‘Don’t Leave Me This Way’ which topped the Billboard Hot 100 in 1977.

Houston commented;

One of the biggest joys for me in this business is getting the opportunity to collaborate with other top artists.

I love the challenge to see if what I do can work with what they’re doing.

Sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn’t.

I think the blend of what Morrissey is singing and what I’m singing really works on “Bobby”.

And it was a lot of fun working with M in the studio too! “

‘I Am Not A Dog On A Chain’ is now available to pre-order from It will be released on digital and streaming formats, plus a digisleeve CD, a black 140 gram vinyl, and a transparent red vinyl which will be available from HMV and select indie stores. Two D2C formats are also available: clear vinyl and a cassette tape.

This new announcement follows the news that Morrissey hit #1 on this week’s UK Vinyl Singles Chart with his cover of Roy Orbison’s 1964 classic ‘It’s Over’. Initially released exclusively via HMV, the single will receive its full release on January 24th.

‘I Am Not A Dog On A Chain’tracklist:

  1. ‘Jim Jim Falls’

  2. ‘Love Is On Its Way Out’

  3. ‘Bobby, Don’t You Think They Know?’

  4. ‘I Am Not A Dog On A Chain’

  5. ‘What Kind of People Live in These Houses?’

  6. ‘Knockabout World’

  7. ‘Darling, I Hug A Pillow’

  8. ‘Once I Saw the River Clean’

  9. ‘The Truth About Ruth’

  10. ‘The Secret of Music’

  11. ‘My Hurling Days Are Done’

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

MADDOX JONES Releases Uplifting “World’s Gone Mad”

Rising UK singer-songwriter Maddox Jones follows up his debut EP (Headspace) with a heartwarming new single, “World’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.