Driving while intoxicated lawyers in Raleigh

 If you have been charged with a DWI offense, you must understand the legal meaning behind each of the elements of the crime. A DWI conviction can result in many negative consequences such as a possibility of jail time, a criminal record, higher insurance premiums, community service, alcohol education, substance abuse treatment, and court/administrative fees. Specifically, defendants who are charged with driving while impaired face automatic revocation of their license for at least 30 days, even before they have had a trial. However, in many cases, a competent and knowledgeable attorney can help you obtain a limited driving privilege after the first ten days of this suspension.

What is Considered a DUI is NC?

If convicted of a DWI, a person could face court fines of up to $2,000, imprisonment for up to 5 years, and insurance increases of up to 400%. Many DWI convictions result in mandatory jail sentences, and a person could be sentenced to jail even if he is a first time DWI offender.

If you have been charged with driving while impaired, it is important to remember that it doesn’t automatically mean you are guilty. There may be possible defenses in your case that should be raised at trial. Also, there may be alternatives that can be taken to help minimize the negative effects in the event of a conviction. If you’ve been charged with driving while impaired, contact us at The Law Corner for a free consultation and case evaluation.

What Happens if I am Found Guilty of a DUI?

If convicted of a DWI, a person could face court fines of up to $2,000, imprisonment for up to 5 years, and insurance increases of up to 400%. Many DWI convictions result in mandatory jail sentences, and a person could be sentenced to jail even if he is a first time DWI offender.

If you have been charged with driving while impaired, it is important to remember that it doesn’t automatically mean you are guilty. There may be possible defenses in your case that should be raised at trial. Also, there may be alternatives that can be taken to help minimize the negative effects in the event of a conviction. If you’ve been charged with driving while impaired, contact us at The Law Corner for a free consultation and case evaluation.

NC Law: DWI Charges

In North Carolina, DWI charges are governed by North Carolina General Statute 20-138.1. This statute states that a person is guilty of Driving While Impaired if they:

(a) operate

(b) a vehicle

(c) on a highway, street, or public vehicular area

(d) while under the influence of an impairing substance or with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more at any relevant time after driving.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Rajesh Jindal on his way to lead the globe of news with Hindutva Info

Now a days there is lot of competition going on, in the field of media. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.