Iconic British soul and funk band, The Real Thing, will celebrate their 50th anniversary in 2020 with the release of a brand-new Best Of album, featuring a never-before-released track, released on BMG on 10th January 2020.

Listen to newly unearthed track ‘Someone Oughta Write a Song (About You Baby)’ and watch the video here:

The release coincides with a brand-new documentary about the group, Everything – The Real Thing Story, by filmmaker Simon Sheridan which will be coming to cinemas in January 2020.

Formed in 1970, The Real Thing’s incredible rise from the streets of Toxteth in Liverpool to the bright lights of New York is chronicled in this new album full of incredible hits, including ‘Can’t Get By Without You’, ‘You’ll Never Know What You’re Missing’, ‘Can You Feel The Force’, and of course the ubiquitous song that saw the band become the first all-black British group to hit #1 in the UK charts: ‘You to Me Are Everything’.

The Real Thing were formed out of the ashes of Liverpool band The Chants, whom The Beatles performed as a backing band for at the height of their fame such was the admiration between the two bands for each other.

Consisting of Chris Amoo, Eddie Amoo, Ray Lake, and Dave Smith, The Real Thing toured worldwide, including a period as David Essex’s backing band, as well as achieving their own success both in the 1970’s and 1980’s, when remixes of their notable hits were re-released.

Several tracks on this brand-new Best Of album will be appearing on CD format for the very first time, and as well as this, it will include a brand-new track – ‘Someone Oughta Write a Song (About You Baby)’.

Originally written and recorded with Ken Gold and Mick Denne, the same team behind several of the band’s hits including ‘You To Me Are Everything’ and ‘Can’t Get By Without You’, ‘’Someone Oughta Write a Song (About You Baby)’ was due to be the third of a would-be trio of hits, however it was shelved when the band decided they wanted to write and produce their own material, despite being fully mixed.

For decades it remained a lost track, until in 2017 Ken Gold found the only remaining tape copy of the track in a storage locker. Through a process known as ‘tape baking’, with the assistance of James Guthrie (Pink Floyd engineer/ producer), the tape was salvaged, playable, and transferred to digital.

The band featuring original members Chris Amoo and Dave Smith will also perform at The Jazz Café in London on 14th January.

Everything – The Real Thing Story is coming to cinemas in January. Shot on location in Liverpool and London by filmmaker Simon Sheridan and narrated by actor Jacob Anderson (Game of Thrones) / rapper Raleigh Ritchie , the documentary charts the story of Britain’s first black music revolution, and how the band’s massive success has been tempered with racism, drug addiction and suicide. For the very first time, original band members Eddy Amoo, Chris Amoo and Dave Smith reveal the brutally honest truth behind their trailblazing 50-year career.

After five decades, they remain the godfathers of black British music. For full cinema listings visit

Track Listing


1              Someone Outta Write a Song (About You Baby)

2              You To Me Are Everything

3              Can’t Get By Without You

4              You’ll Never Know What You’re Missing

5              Dance with Me

6              Love’s Such a Wonderful Thing

7              Children of the Ghetto

8              Whenever You Want My Love

9              Let’s Go Disco

10           Can You Feel the Force (12” Disco Mix)

11           Boogie Down (Get Funky Now)

12           Keep An Eye On Your Best Friend

13           Topsy Turvy

14           Saint or Sinner

15           Foot Tappin’

16           Flash


1              Rainin’ Through My Sunshine

2              (He’s Just) A Money Maker

3              She’s a Groovy Freak

4              Lightning Strikes Again

5              Watch Out Caroline

6              Give Me Your Love

7              Stone Cold Love Affair

8              Liverpool Medley: Liverpool Eight/Children of the Ghetto/Stanhope Street

9              Won’t You Step Into My World?

10           Lovin’ You Is Like A Dream

11           A Love That’s Real

12           Young And Foolish

13           You To Me Are Everything (1986 ‘Decade’ remix)

14           Can’t Get By Without You (1986 ‘Second Decade’ remix)

15           Watcha Say, Whatcha Do

RJ Frometa
Author: RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Dawn Richard & Spencer Zahn Present Movement 2 from New Collaborative Album, Out 10/21 on Merge

Last month, Dawn Richard and multi-instrumentalist, producer, and composer Spencer Zahn announced Pigments, their debut collaborative album, out October 21st on Merge …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.