David Gray Releases “Through To Myself” Following Grammy Nomination

David Gray releases the track “Through To Myself.” Watch the video here. Originally only available as a secret track on the CD release of the album White Ladder, the track arrives ahead of a special remastered 20th anniversary edition of White Ladder, which will be released on February 14th.

Available on CD and for the first time ever on vinyl, there will also be a deluxe 2xCD edition and 4xLP version which will include White Ladder rarities and B-sides (including “Through To Myself”), plus an extensive booklet with stories written by Gray about the whole White Ladder experience.

The release of “Through To Myself” comes on the heels of Gray’s GRAMMY nomination for “Best Boxed or Special Limited Edition Package” on his most recent critically-acclaimed studio album, Gold in a Brass Age. The nomination is considerably special as Gray was heavily involved in the design process with fellow artists Amanda Chiu and Mark Farrow.

In conjunction with the White Ladder: The 20th Anniversary deluxe edition release, Gray will embark on a 39-date tour of UK, European and North American shows; White Ladder: The 20th Anniversary Tour. The shows will see Gray perform White Ladder with all the original band members and with all the original equipment to recreate the record in its entirety, plus a set of the greatest hits.

Speaking about “Through To Myself,” Gray says; “The producer working on White Ladder, Iestyn Polson, used to play video games. Relaxation for him was blowing the shit out of things. Because all those games had loads of hidden chambers, when it came to mastering the album we had a few extra things lying around, including this track ‘Through To Myself’ which we decided to make a hidden track. People often put secret tracks at the end of CDs, so the last track goes on for about 4 weeks, but Iestyn said ‘There’s another place you can put a secret track, and that’s right at the front of the album, before zero.’ So we put it before ‘Please Forgive Me’ and kept quiet.”

White Ladder was born of difficult circumstances. Gray had been struggling on the margins, swimming against the tide of Britpop, grunge, hip hop and electro. “Futility was so thick on the ground it was utterly soul destroying.” He asked himself some difficult questions: “Can you make a better record? Can you write a better song? The decision was to open up and give it everything I’ve got.” Written and recorded on minimal budget in his Stoke Newington bedroom, Gray experimented with drum machines and electronic elements, aided by drummer Craig McClune and engineer Polson.

Upon its 20th anniversary, it’s interesting to consider the extraordinary aftermath of White Ladder. Its success spawned a new wave of singer-songwriters in an acoustic boom that resonates to this day, a soul-baring lineage that can be directly traced from Gray to the all-conquering Ed Sheeran. Indeed, Sheeran is a fan, known to cover “This Year’s Love” live. Fellow world beating British superstar Adele is also an admirer, citing “This Year’s Love” as one of her all-time favorite break-up songs.

White Ladder is one of 11 complex and heartfelt albums Gray has recorded in a career that spans 25 years. Says Gray, “What happened with White Ladder involved more than music. It was a sort of heart and soul moment of total surrender for everybody involved, for me and the audience. That was it. It doesn’t get any better than that.”


7/13                Lewiston, NY                Artpark Mainstage Theater

7/14                Cleveland, OH              Jacobs Pavilion at Nautica

7/16                Toronto, ON                Budweiser Stage

7/17                Rochester Hills, MI       Meadow Brook Amphitheatre

7/18                Chicago, IL                   Huntington Bank Pavilion at Northerly Island

7/20                Milwaukee, WI             BMO Harris Pavilion

7/23                Morrison, CO               Red Rocks Amphitheatre

7/24                Salt Lake City, UT         Sandy Amphitheatre

7/25                Boise, ID                      Ford Idaho Center Amphitheater

7/28                Troutdale, OR              McMenamins Edgefield

7/31                Los Angeles, CA            Greek Theatre

8/1                  Berkeley, CA                Greek Theatre

8/2                  San Diego, CA              Cal Coast Credit Union Open Air Theatre at SDSU

8/6                  Austin, TX                    ACL Live at The Moody Theatre

8/7                  Irving, TX                     The Pavilion at Toyota Music Factory

8/8                  Kansas City, MO           Starlight Theatre

8/10                Nashville, TN                Ascend Amphitheatre

8/11                Atlanta, GA                  Cadence Bank Amphitheatre at Chastain Park

8/13                Charlotte, NC               Charlotte Metro Credit Union Amphitheatre

8/14                Raleigh, NC                  Red Hat Amphitheater

8/15                Vienna, VA                   Wolf Trap

8/18                Brooklyn, NY                BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival at Prospect Park Bandshell

8/20                Philadelphia, PA           TD Pavilion at the Mann

8/21                Boston, MA                  Rockland Trust Bank Pavilion



4LP (2x white vinyl, 2x black vinyl)


Expanded edition track listing:

CD1 / LP1&2 – White Ladder 2020 remaster:                CD2 / LP3&4 – Unreleased rarities & B-sides:

1. Please Forgive Me                                                    1. Lights Of London

2. Babylon                                                                   2. Over My Head

3. My Oh My                                                                3. Monday Morning

4. We’re Not Right                                                       4. Tired Of Me

5. Nightblindness                                                         5. Roots Of Love

6. Silver Lining                                                              6. Walking In Circles

7. White Ladder                                                           7. Through To Myself

8. This Year’s Love                                                        8. Over My Head (demo)

9. Sail Away                                                                 9. What On Earth (demo)

10. Say Hello, Wave Goodbye                                       10. Silver Lining (demo)

11. This Year’s Love (demo)

12. Please Forgive Me (demo)



2LP (Gatefold, white vinyl)


CD1 / LP1&2 – White Ladder 2020 remaster track listing:

1. Please Forgive Me

2. Babylon

3. My Oh My

4. We’re Not Right

5. Nightblindness

6. Silver Lining

7. White Ladder

8. This Year’s Love

9. Sail Away

10. Say Hello, Wave Goodbye





About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Munk Duane Releases New Single “Sweet Tooth”

Munk Duane’s brand new single “Sweet Tooth” was written, performed and produced by Munk Duane, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.