South Africa win the 2019 Rugby World Cup

South Africa have now tied with the New Zealand All Blacks for tournament wins at the Rugby World Cup, following their recent victory in Japan. This meant they became three time winners, with victories in 1995, 2007 and of course 2019. South Africa have also now won every World Cup final they have played in, as they remain at the top of the sport. Here we cover there road to the 2019 victory.

South Africa started the tournament with a defeat as New Zealand beat them 23-13 in the Pool B opener. The All Blacks made a flying start in the fixture, with the Springboks coming back at the end in a close encounter. Following the defeat, South Africa drifted in the betting markets at for the outright victory. With the All Blacks being pushed further in as the strong favourites to land their third World Cup in succession.

Match two in Pool B saw them pick up their first victory in the competition with a 57-3 win over lowly Namibia. They scored nine tries on the way to the very one sided affair against their neighbours. The victory included two tries from star man, Makazole Mapimpi.

Next up for the Springboks was a comprehensive 49-3 victory over Italy inside the Shizuoka Stadium. This saw them pick up another bonus point victory and all but seal their progression to the quarter-finals of the competition. Winger Cheslin Kolbe scored two tries as Mapimpi also again scored a try in the impressive victory.

Pool B’s final game for South Africa was against Canada and another victory was expected. This materialised with another very one sided game as they ran out 66-7 winners, with the Springboks scoring ten tries. Cobus Reinach played a starring role as he scored three tries in the opening 20 minutes, as the game had already reached 47-0 by half-time. This victory was another example of the sides positive progression throughout the competition.

The quarter-final match saw South Africa face off against hosts Japan. It was a very close first half as the Springboks took a 5-3 lead into the second half, before picking up three tries in a dominant second half performance. This saw them run out 26-3 winners over the hosts and end their impressive run to the knockout stages of the competition. Again Mapimpi got on the scoresheet with two tries.

Wales were next up for South Africa in the semi-final and this proved to be the most difficult match of the tournament for the Springboks. The game eventually finished 19-16, as Handre Pollard kicked 14 points for the Springboks. This included him scoring the decisive penalty to all but seal their progression to the final.

England were there final opponents and the latter entered following an impressive victory over two-time defending champions New Zealand. This is why they were sent off the strong favourites to pick up their second World Cup title over South Africa. However, the final turned out to be very one-sided, as the Springboks defence again came to the fore in the dominating 32-12 victory. This meant that South Africa picked up their third title and became the most successful side in the history of the competition.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

5 Random Personal Trainer Tips

Whether you are a beginner personal trainer or a seasoned pro, there is always room …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.