Home / News / Good Morning Release New Single/Video | Album Out Tomorrow

Good Morning Release New Single/Video | Album Out Tomorrow

Good Morning – the Melbourne-based recording project of Stefan Blair and Liam Parsons – release a new single/video, “Classic Quip,” from their new album, Basketball Breakups, out tomorrow. It follows the breezy guitar and soft, nearly-plain-spoken vocals of lead single, “Garden.” “Classic Quip” is a rebuke, seeing the kind of language that gets bandied around in mens’ locker rooms and at the pub resonate through public discourse, and attempting to reckon with it.

‘Classic Quip’ is a song about the widespread jock culture that informs so much of Australian life, and how it affects you as you grow up and beyond,” says Parsons. “Because we believe education starts in the home, we asked our sons Small Liam, Medium Stefan & Large Liam to create a video for it.”

Basketball Breakups was recorded over four humid, summer days in a studio in Japan, and was mastered by Liam “Snowy” Halliwell. Blair and Parsons, who are joined by bandmates James MacLeod and John Considine, sound truly at ease on these songs, which are mostly comprised of early takes. Named after the blissful “breakup dinner” at the end of a junior sports season, the spirit of that communal joy is alive on this album. While their previous album, The Option, was tightly rehearsed and made with the vision of a true rock record in mind, Basketball Breakups was recorded while it was arranged, on digital and tape.

There’s a sense of on-the-fly intimacy with this album. These songs are privy to anxiety and anticipation, the good and the bad kinds of extended reflection, and what the band term their first “requited” love songs. Ultimately, Basketball Breakups shows Good Morning at their most candid and their most understated – dealing in the poetics of everyday life with levity, grace, and grit.

Good Morning will tour North America in support of Basketball Breakups. Tour dates are listed below and all tickets are on sale now.

Watch the Video for “Classic Quip” –

https://youtu.be/h1iacVph2HI

Watch the Video for “Garden” –

https://youtu.be/n2H6qCKlEWc

Pre-order Basketball Breakups –

https://lnk.to/goodmorning-basketball-breakups

Listen to “Boy, I’m Just A Loser For Your Love” –

https://youtu.be/R5Hup48mCEo

Listen to “Take It Easy For Me, Stranger” –

https://youtu.be/iQoDlUdh2ck

Good Morning Tour Dates (new dates in bold):

Wed. Oct. 9 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop

Sat. Oct. 12 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios

Sun. Oct. 13 – Vancouver, BC @ Wise Hall

Mon. Oct. 14 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza

Wed. Oct. 16 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge

Fri. Oct. 18 – Sioux Falls, SD @ Total Drag Records

Sat. Oct. 19 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle

Mon. Oct. 21 – Toronto, ON @ The Baby G

Tue. Oct. 22 – Montreal, QC @ Casa Del Popolo

Wed. Oct. 23 – New York, NY @ Baby’s All Right

Fri. Oct. 25 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot and Saddle

Sat. Oct. 26 – Washington DC @ Pie Shop

Sun. Oct. 27 – Asheville, NC @ Mothlight

Mon. Oct. 28 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement

Tue. Oct. 29 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa

Thu. Oct. 31 – Dallas, TX @ Dada

Fri. Nov. 1 – Austin, TX @ The Mohawk

Sun. Nov. 3 – Tucson, AZ @ Hotel Congress

Mon. Nov. 4 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Rhythm Room

Tue. Nov. 5 – Los Angeles, CA @ EL CID

Sat. Nov. 9 – Los Angeles, CA @ EL CID – SOLD OUT

Sun. Nov. 10 – Pico Rivera, CA @ Tropicalia Fest

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

CAUTIOUS CLAY SHARES NEW LIVE PERFORMANCE VIDEOS AS MEMBERS OF VEVO ‘DSCVR ARTISTS TO WATCH’ 2020

‘Artists to Watch’ is now in its 6th year with the list consisting of 20 …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.