Transelement Announce Debut Album “Rural Tunings”

After nearly twenty years since the record’s completion, The Creeping Bent Organisation is delighted to announce, the long awaited release of the debut album by Lancashire hotpots Transelement on the 4th of October 2019.

‘Rural Tunings’, recorded in 2001 and scheduled to be released on Creeping Bent that year, features fourteen genre defying tracks by a band of teenage pop visionaries that were described by the late great John Peel as simply “weird”.  A huge admirer of the band, the celebrated DJ invited Transelement into the BBC studios in Maida Vale to record two separate sessions in the space of a few months for broadcast on his show.

The first taste of what to expect from the album will be lead single Lost In An Eiderdown’ which is accompanied by their startling video that recalls the quirky joy and beauty created by both Oliver Postgate and Vernon Elliot, albeit delivered from the mushroom laden fields of rural Lancashire.

Album Track Listing:

01. ‘Marlybourne Rusk’

02. ‘Booda Fly’

03. ‘Valentino Morriazzi’

04. ‘Lost In An Eiderdown’

05. ‘Bone Marrow Winky’

06. ‘Crackt Ol’ Cupboard’

07. ‘September In Edinburgh’

08. ‘Dusty & Brown’

09. ‘Dancing Dogs’

10. ‘Turban Paper’

11. ‘Old Martyr Horses’

12. ‘Past Twelve Theme Tune’

13. ‘Faberge’

14. ‘Chainmail’

Formed in school by Jay Stanfield and Karl Eden (vocals / guitars / synths) and Mark Tattersall (drums / machines / tapes), they started scraping together aural weirdness on a broken 4-track tape machine, which resulted in an experimental approach to making skewed pop.

The trio through went several name mutations, but in the late 1990’s they were called Element and sent a hand-coloured designed cassette through the letterbox of Douglas MacIntryre at Creeping Bent H.Q. in Mount Florida, Glasgow which at the time boasted a roster of Alan Vega & Revolutionary Corps of Teenage Jesus, The Leopards, The Nectarine No9, The Secret Goldfish and Adventures in Stereo.

Douglas MacIntyre takes up the story:

“the label was doing well, we had just curated our own stage at Meltdown Festival in London and all our groups were recording Peel Sessions, so we weren’t really looking to sign anyone new at the time…

However, they got their pop hooks in me and it was agreed a track would be released on the Creeping Bent Singles Club. The track ‘Lord Aparts’ was immediately picked up by Peel and other turned-on members of the media. My craving could not be satisfied and it was decided to release a mini-album, ‘Sour Blaster’, which started connecting with a growing audience of weirdoids

The group were assembling and amassing a considerable number of songs all recorded on their faulty 4-track machine. An album was scheduled for release by us in 2001, but sadly was never released for various reasons too abstract to deconstruct here. It is undoubtedly one of my favourite Creeping Bent releases so I’m pleased to be finally letting this album escape into the omniverse”.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Singer, songwriter and guitarist Johnny Day raises a toast to getting over a relationship with “Every …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.