Gabriella Cilmi releases new single ‘The Water’

Gabriella Cilmi releases her blues tinged new single ‘The Water’ on August 21st. ‘The Water’ is the second single from Gabriella’s forthcoming EP of the same title, which will be released on November 1st and showcases a more mature and authentic sound from the Australian artist.

Working with her brother Joseph as co-songwriter and Eliot James as producer, the three stripped her music to the core. Her forthcoming new EP is the bravest, most explicitly honest thing Gabriella Cilmi has ever done.

Listen to ‘The Water’ single here –

Speaking about the new single, Gabriella explains, “We wrote the water over a blues riff and it kind of evolved from there. The lyrics were inspired by new age prophets and the self-professed messiah types, who promise you heaven on earth if you follow them, sign up to their courses or donate to their “churches” funding their lavish lifestyles. I was watching Wild, Wild Country at the time and I guess that may have sublimely influenced me.”

‘The Water’ is the follow up to Gabriella’s single ‘Ruins’. The ‘Sweet About Me’ hit-maker made a welcome return earlier this summer with ‘Ruins’, a beautiful piece of gilded country-soul, her husky voice set against that graceful acoustic guitar. If it feels incredibly natural then that’s because it is – this is her voice, her vision, and her life. The single featured on Spotify New Music Friday and picked up support from Zoe Ball’s BBC Radio 2 Breakfast show and ITV London news amongst others. Watch the video for ‘Ruins’ here –

Gabriella Cilmi enjoyed phenomenal success at an incredibly young age. Still a teen when breakout single ‘Sweet About Me’ conquered the globe, the Australian artist was thrust into the glare of the spotlight, enjoying chart success after chart success. Over a decade later, Gabriella has blossomed as an independent artist and having taken things back to their roots, she has found her path, and she intends to see where it leads.

Gabriella says, “I am beyond excited to release new music again. It feels like I’ve been in hibernation for far too long and it would be nice to get out and tour…’

London headline show at St. Pancras Old Church November 7th. Tickets on sale now from

‘The Water EP’ tracklisting:

1. Safe From Harm

2. Forgiveness

3. Ruins

4. The Water

5. Keep On Keeping

6. Get Yourself Together.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

JULIANA. and Izzy Pollak Reimagine Ariana Grande’s “Santa Tell Me”

Rising pop singer and songwriter JULIANA. has collaborated with friend, performance artist and tech entrepreneur Izzy Pollak for a reimagined …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.