TRACK BY TRACK: Forlorn Hope’s Over The Hills

We are pleased to exclusively reveal a track by track breakdown of the new album from Brit heavy metal quintet FORLORN HOPE ( ) . The band will drop their album, Over The Hills, this Friday. Here’s what the band have the say about the songs that made up the album:

“1 – Introduction –

The wistful melody of the traditional folk song ‘Over the Hills and Far Away’, which has strong associations with the Peninsular War, is given a heavy metal twist to set the scene for the rest of the album.

2 – Vive L’Empereur –

An imposing opener that recounts the rise and early conquests of Napoleon Bonaparte. As unrelenting as its subject matter, this ominous track pounds on through belligerent riffs and grandiose, imperial melodies to a chorus culminating in a colossal, French battlecry.

3 – Rifles –

A fist-pumping tribute to the legendary regiment of British sharpshooters; the 95th Rifles. This galloping anthem is irresistibly catchy and has been a firm fan-favourite since its original release on our 2018 demo EP. Listen to the song, here –

4 – Talavera –

A full account of the epic 1809 Battle of Talavera condensed into four minutes of classic, heavy metal hooks. Scorching lead guitars and powerful vocals carry you at full pelt through the dramatic narrative of victory from the jaws of defeat.

5 – War in the Shadows –

The story of Spanish guerilla fighters in the Peninsular War and the bloody war they waged against the French. This dark and unforgiving song brings the heaviest riff-work on the album to bear to evoke a sense of rage and terror, but still boasts plenty of killer vocal hooks.

6 – The Eagle Hunters –

A true tale of heroism; the capture of a French Imperial Eagle at the Battle of Barossa, 1811, by Sergeant Patrick Masterson, as depicted on the album cover. A short, punchy slice of unabashed heavy metal driven by precision, machine gun drumwork and and heroic melodies.

7 – Die Hard –

In fittingly aggressive style, this song recalls scenes from the 1811 Battle of Albuera; one of the bloodiest battles of the Peninsular War. Pounding rhythms combine with blistering lead work to recreate the frantic desperation of that terrible fight. This is a song that takes no prisoners.

8 – Badajoz –

The 1812 storming of Badajoz retold in truly epic fashion. This sweeping, cinematic piece takes you from a colossal prelude, through the tension and anticipation before the storming to the bloodsoaked chaos of the attack itself. The music is relentless, the lyrics visceral, the hooks immense and the experience overwhelming. Check out the track, here – .

9 – Man of Secrets, Man of Honour –

The incredible, little known story of Colquhoun Grant; British Exploring Officer and Wellington’s finest spy. Soaring, Maiden-esque vocals, bouncing keyboard melodies and a rousing singalong bridge combine with intense, threatening riffs to evoke the excitement, adventure and peril that defined Grant’s exploits in equal measure.

10 – Masterstrike –

A fittingly abrupt retelling of Wellington’s lightning victory at the Battle of Salamanca in 1812. With its furious drum and riff work and glorious lead melodies, this song pays thrilling, bombastic tribute to the unique talent of one of Britain’s greatest generals.

11 – Vitoria –

The final chapter of the album’s story concerns the Battle of Vitoria in 1813, when the French were finally driven out of Spain. Towering melodies create a sense of triumph and melancholy befitting the battle that marked the beginning of the end of a long and bitter war. You can listen to the track, here –

12 – Over the Hills and Far Away –

The traditional folk favourite is reprised as a full length cover featuring John Tams’ famous ‘Sharpe’ lyrics. Crisp acoustic guitars, delicate keyboards and a far more intimate vocal performance make this an emotional epilogue to the album.

13 – BONUS – Forlorn Hope –

A song that began life as a bit of fun and grew into a shameless, self-titled, heavy metal anthem and our de facto set-closer. What it lacks in historical content, it makes up for in undeniable catchiness and features a fantastic duelling keyboard and guitar solo.”

RJ Frometa
Author: RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Clemente Releases Debut Album ‘Akelarre’

Akelarre – the stunning new debut album from Valencia-based multi-instrumentalist, DJ & producer Clemente – is …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.