Home / News / KAWALA DROP BRAND NEW SINGLE ‘PLAY IT RIGHT’ + ANNOUNCE UK HEADLINE TOUR

KAWALA DROP BRAND NEW SINGLE ‘PLAY IT RIGHT’ + ANNOUNCE UK HEADLINE TOUR

KAWALA release their first single, ‘Play It Right’ with new label, Virgin EMI out now! Listen here

Stunning vocal harmonies combine with upbeat rhythmic guitar to create a track that’s infused with joyful energy and sunny optimism.

Speaking about the song KAWALA explain, “When writing ‘Play it Right’ we thought, what better topic for a song than to discuss the difficulties of writing a song itself. It’s kind of set from the perspective of an internal voice guiding you through the many obstacles faced when trying to write a screamer.”

Formed in North London by then teenagers Jim Higson and Daniel McCarthy, the band are a truly unique proposition within the UK music scene.Drawing inspiration from the likes of John Martyn Bombay Bicycle Club, The Staves, Bon Iver and Half Moon Run, the pair started writing songs together and quickly developed a close musical partnership.

As the songs developed they eventually put together a full band with friends Dan Lee on electric guitar, Reeve Coulson on bass and Ben Battenon drums.

Before their recent signing to Virgin EMI, KAWALA released two EPs via Mahogany, D.I.L.Y.D and Counting The Miles.

Live the band have already gone some distance. In May they played a sold out 5-date headline tour of the UK, culminating in a show at London’s Tufnell Park Dome and were also one of the first 50 acts announced at this year’s Great Escape festival in Brighton. In October 2019 they’re embarking on a 13-date headline tour and will play their biggest London show to date at the Islington Assembly Hall. Ahead of that, they play a number of festival slots with sets at Barn on The Farm, Standon Calling, Leopolloza and Wilderness. They’ll also be making their debut appearance at Reading/Leeds Festival, with the band opening the main stage on Friday morning!

Summer Festivals

Thurs 4 July – Summer in the City – Mainz, Germany

Sun 7 July – Barn On The Farm – Oxford

Thurs 11 July – Stimmen Festival – Lorrach, Germany

Sat 13 July – Hidden Herd – Brighton

Fri 26 July – Standon Calling – Ware

Sat 27 July – Juicy Beats – Dortmund, Germany

Sun 28 July – Leopolloza – Cornwall

Fri 2 Aug – Wilderness – Oxford

Sat 3 Aug – 110 Above – Leicester

Fri 23 Aug – Reading Festival – Reading

Sat 24 Aug – Leeds Festival – Leeds

Fri 30 Aug – Bingley Music Live – Bingley

October UK Headline Tour

Tues 8 Oct – The Basement – York

Weds 9 Oct – Record Junkee – Sheffield

Thurs 10 Oct – The Mash House – Edinburgh

Fri 11 Oct – Sound Basement – Liverpool

Sun 13 Oct – Komedia – Brighton

Mon 14 Oct – The Exchange – Bristol

Weds 16 Oct – Joiners – Southampton

Thurs 17 Oct – Islington Assembly Hall – London

Sat 19 Oct – The Academy Green Room – Dublin

Sun 20 Oct – Oh Yeah Music Society – Belfast

Tues 22 – Bodega – Nottingham

Weds 23 – Portland Arms – Cambridge

Thurs 24 – Waterfront – Norwich

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Thurston Moore Announces New SPIRIT COUNSEL TOUR Dates

Thurston Moore has added Woodstock, Los Angeles, and San Francisco shows to his upcoming US tour …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.