Shura Presents New Song, “the stage”

Shura unveils a new track, “the stage,” from her forthcoming album forevher, out on Secretly Canadian on August 16th. Intimate, unorthodox and affecting, “the stage” switches between sensual, Minie Ripperton and Prince-inspired disco to ecstatic electronics that capture the tension of a potential new love. Shura drew inspiration from her first date with current girlfriend.

I had travelled to NYC to go on it, so I was a little bit nervous as this was definitely THE most high stakes date I’d ever been on,” says Shura. “I DM’d my friends MUNA who were playing a show the night that I arrived and asked them if they could get us both in, and they loved the concept of a first date at a MUNA gig. I wasn’t sure how the date was going until she took my hand whilst trying to lead me to a spot where I could see them play (i.e. basically nowhere in the venue as I’m too short!). Then I knew it was all going to be OK.

Written primarily about Shura’s relationship with her girlfriend and their long-distance conception,forevher traces everything from the initial pull of desire to that first IRL meeting (“the stage”), before recognizing when the connection develops into something scarily meaningful. It’s a classic NYC-to-London love-story, but one told through the totally modern filter of dating apps, unanswered texts, Skype chats…and MUNA gigs.

Co-produced alongside Joel Pott – with musical turns from Jona Ma (from Jagwar Ma), Will Miller (Whitney), T-E-E-D and additional vocals from Rosie LoweKerry LeathamReva fromNimmo – Shura describes forevher as “a soul record, sung by someone who doesn’t have a traditional soul voice. And I quite enjoy the antagonism of that.” A passionate, tactile album about connection in times of distance, that unmistakable feeling is apparent from just a glance at the album’s artwork, which reworks ‘Rodin’s: The Kiss’ to feature two woman bathed in an all-encompassing blue. “I wanted to create something that people could look at, in the way that you look at The Kiss, and think: I recognise that. Or I want that, or I crave that, or I miss that. I wanted to make something that was specific to my experience of being a queer woman that anyone of any gender or sexuality could look at and think ‘yeah, I understand’ or ‘that’s beautiful.’ Because that’s all love is.”

Listen to “the stage” – 

https://youtu.be/zDCPai9kWLQ

Watch Video for “religion (u lay your hands on me) –

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HHI_WpVLT1g

Stream “BKLYNLDN” – 

https://shura.ffm.to/bklynldn

Stream “BKLYNLDN” (i_vu London Dub) – 

https://youtu.be/kAxprvn2IGI

Shura Tour Dates:

Wed. June 19 – London, UK @ Moth Club

Thu. June 27 – Bristol, UK @ Louisiana

Sat. June 29 – Worthy Farm, UK @ Glastonbury Festival

Thu. Sept 26 – Vancouver, BC @ Venue

Fri. Sept. 27 – Seattle, WA @ Crocodile

Sat. Sept. 28 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge

Mon. Sept. 30 – San Francisco, CA @ Independent

Wed.. Oct. 2 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom

Thu. Oct. 3 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar

Wed. Oct. 16 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle

Thu. Oct. 17 – Columbus, OH @ The Basement

Fri. Oct. 18 – Washington, DC @ Union Stage

Sat. Oct. 19 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s

Sun. Oct. 20 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern

Tue. Oct. 22 – Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall

Wed. Oct. 23 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg

Mon. Nov. 4 – Paris, FR @ Café de la Danse

Tue. Nov. 5 – Cologne, DE @ Luxor

Wed. Nov. 6 – Munich, DE @ Ampere

Thu. Nov. 7 – Berlin, DE @ Lido

Fri. Nov. 8 – Hamburg, DE @ Mojo

Sun. Nov. 10 – Copenhagen, DK @ Hotel Cecil

Tue. Nov. 12 – Amsterdam, NL @ Melkweg

Wed. Nov. 13 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique Orangerie

Thu. Nov. 14 – London, UK @ Roundhouse

Sat. Nov. 16 – Dublin, IE @ Academy

Sun. Nov. 17 – Glasgow, UK @ Oran Mor

Mon. Nov. 18 – Manchester, UK @ O2 Ritz Manchester

Pre-order forevher – 

https://shura.ffm.to/forevher

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Grand County Blues Society Presents the 18th Annual Blues From the Top “Day Of Blues 2021”

Blues From The Top is Back! Grand County Blues Society presents the 18th Annual Blues From The Top …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.