Light in the Attic Records continues its Lee Hazlewood archival series with 400 Miles From L.A. 1955-56, a collection of previously unknown demo recordings that reveal the talents of the late songwriter, producer and artist from a very early stage in his career. Lost for over 60 years, these recently unearthed recordings find Hazlewood in Phoenix, AZ, honing his songwriting skills as he shuttled himself back and forth on a Greyhound bus to Los Angeles in hopes of landing a hit song. These early sketches and unheard gems further expand on Hazlewood’s influential recorded history, adding a new first chapter to his legacy that comes a full decade before his song “These Boots Are Made For Walking” became a smash hit for Nancy Sinatra.

Available September 13th, the LP and CD packages contain new liner notes by Hazlewood guru Hunter Lea, featuring an interview withArizona music historian John Dixon. The Light In The Attic Online Exclusive Bundle (available only at is pressed on colored vinyl and includes a treasure trove of Hazlewood collectibles created especially for this release: a travel journal18”x 24” silkscreen printshot glass, and a set of “Labels of Lee” drink coastersall crafted in cooperation with the Hazlewood estate.

Track Listing:

1. Cross Country Bus

2. The Woman I Love

3. Five Thousand and One

4. Lonesome Day

5. A Lady Called Blues

6. Five More Miles to Folsom

7. Fort Worth

8. The Old Man and His Guitar

9. Peculiar Guy

10. Long Black Train

11. I Guess It’s Love

12. It’s An Actuality

13. Buying On Time

14. The Country Bus Tune

15. Long Black Train

16. Run Boy Run

17. Big Joe Slade

18. Son of a Gun

19. Georgia Chain Gang

20. Look At That Woman

21. Peculiar Guy

22. The Railroad Song

23. Six Feet of Chain

24. Trouble Is A Lonesome Town

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Grand County Blues Society Presents the 18th Annual Blues From the Top “Day Of Blues 2021”

Blues From The Top is Back! Grand County Blues Society presents the 18th Annual Blues From The Top …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.