Home / News / Guitarist Tab Benoit To Be Inducted Into Louisiana Folklife Center Hall Of Master Folk Artists, Headlines 40th Annual Nachitoches-NSU Folk Festival

Guitarist Tab Benoit To Be Inducted Into Louisiana Folklife Center Hall Of Master Folk Artists, Headlines 40th Annual Nachitoches-NSU Folk Festival

Renowned guitarist Tab Benoit will  serve as Honorary Chair of the 40th Annual Natchitoches-NSU Folk Festival, taking place Friday, July 26 and Saturday, July 27 in Prather Coliseum on the Northwestern State University campus.  In addition to serving as Chair, Benoit will be inducted into the Louisiana Folklife Center Hall of Master Folk Artists and Headline the Main Stage on Saturday, June 27.

“It is our honor to recognize Tab Benoit as an incredibly exciting musician, whose distinctive sound captures the vibrancy of Louisiana’s traditional culture,” says Dr. Shane Rasmussen, Director of the festival and NSU’s Louisiana Folklife Center.  “This year’s festival theme — Vive la Louisiane! — is a celebration of how folk tradition is alive and well in Louisiana.  It’s fitting that this year we should honor a musician of Tab Benoit’s stature, as he has inspired so many others to follow in his steps.”

Benoit will appear at the Welcome Ceremony on Saturday, July 27 at 11am, when he and fellow members of the 2019 Louisiana Folklife Hall of Master Folk Artists Class will be inducted.  Benoit will appear in two narrative sessions at the Festival.  In the first, “Tab Benoit: A Man and his Guitar,” the Louisiana Music Hall of Famer and Grammy nominee will join fellow blues musician and Master Folk Artist Ed Huey to discuss experiences performing his distinctive Louisiana style blues around the world.  In the second session, Benoit will discuss his environmental efforts with the Voice of the Wetlands Foundation.

The family-oriented festival is wheelchair accessible.  Children 12 and under are admitted free of charge.  For a full schedule of events, to purchase tickets, or for more information, call (318) 357-4332, send an email to folklife@nsula.edu, or visit  www.louisianafolklife.nsula.edu.

*Benoit returns to The House of Blues in New Orleans for a special performance, as part of his year-long Whiskey Bayou Revue Tour, on Saturday, June 28. Showtime: 8pm. Tickets are $26.00-$69.50. 225 Decatur St. (504) 310-4999 or visithttp://www.houseofblues.com/neworleans. Opening for Benoit is Whiskey Bayou Records recording artist, Eric Johanson.

TAB BENOIT ‘WHISKEY BAYOU REVUE’ 2019 TOUR

June 7 (Fri.)               BLUES & BREWS FESTIVAL             Flagstaff, AZ

June 9 (Sun.)             MUSICAL INSTRUMENT MUSEUM      Phoenix, AZ

June 10 (Mon.)          RIALTO THEATER                         Tuscon, AZ

June 11 (Tues.)          KIMO THEATER                           Albuquerque, NM

June 12 (Wed.)           ANIMAS CITY THEATER               Durango, CO

June 13 (Thur.)          UTE THEATER                              Rifle, CO

June 14 (Fri.)             UTAH BLUES FESTIVAL                 Salt Lake City, UT

June 15 (Sat.)            BRIGHTON BLUES BLAST              Brighton, CO

June 28 (Fri.)            HOUSE OF BLUES                        New Orleans, LA

July 2 (Wed.)              LAFAYETTE’S MUSIC ROOM         Memphis, TN

July 7 (Sun.)               THE WAITING ROOM                   Omaha, NB

July 9 (Tues.)             AGGIE THEATER                          Fort Collins, CO

July 10 (Wed.)            LIVES FROM CRESTED BUTTE       Crested Butte, CO

July 12 (Fri.)               ODGEN THEATER                        Denver, CO

July 13 (Sat.)              BLUES UNDER THE BRIDGE          Colorado Sprgs, CO

July 17 (Wed.)             GRANADA THEATER                     Dallas, TX

July 18 (Thur.)           TOWER THEATER                         Oklahoma City, OK

July 20 (Sat.)             ANDOVER BLUES FESTIVAL           Andover, KS

July 26 (Fri.)              NATCHITOCHES-NSU FOLK FESTIVAL   Natchitoches, LA

July 27 (Sat.)             NATCHITOCHES-NSU FOLK FESTIVAL    Natchitoches, LA

Aug. 3 (Sun.)             HARVESTER PERFORM. CTR.        Rocky Mount, VA

Aug. 4 (Mon.)            TIN PAN                                      Richmond, VA

Aug. 6 (Wed.)            CITY WINERY                               Boston, MA

Aug. 10 (Sun.)           THE FLYING MONKEY                  Plymouth, NH

Aug. 13 (Wed.)          SKYLOFT                                     Albany, NY

Aug. 16 (Sat.)            NEWTON THEATER                      Newton, NJ

Aug. 18 (Mon.)          WESTAMPTON PER ARTS CTR.     Westampton, NY

Sept. 5-9                     BIG BLUES BENDER                      Las Vegas, NV

Oct. 18 (Fri.)              CRESCENT CITY BLUES/BBQ FEST    New Orleans, LA

Oct. 23 (Wed.)           SAINTE ROCKE                            Hermosa Bch, CA

Oct. 24 (Thur.)          THE COACH HOUSE                     San Juan Cap, CA

Oct. 25 (Fri.)              BELLY UP TAVERN                       Solana Beach, CA

Oct. 26 – Nov. 2        LEGENDARY R&B CRUISE                 Cabo San Lucas, MX

Nov. 5 (Tues.)            HARRIS CTR. FOR THE ARTS        Folsom, CA

Nov. 6 (Wed.)             GREAT AMERICAN MUSIC HALL   San Francisco, CA

Nov. 8 (Fri.)                CRYSTAL BAY CLUB                    Crystal Bay, NV

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

MIKI MONTEBELLO AND THE WEDNESDAYS RELEASE NEW SINGLE, “DANCE FLOOR”

Brooklyn locals, Miki Montebello and The Wednesdays have released their first single, “Dance Floor.” The …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.