Home / News / Michael W. Smith Invites Fans to Celebrate “35 Years Of Friends” With Fall Tour

Michael W. Smith Invites Fans to Celebrate “35 Years Of Friends” With Fall Tour

Gospel Music Hall of Famer and multi-platinum, GRAMMY® Winner Michael W. Smith has announced plans for his fall headlining tour celebrating 35 years of his groundbreaking, iconic song “Friends”. The 23-city tour will launch in Springfield, Missouri on October 3 and will also feature stops in Atlanta, San Antonio, Phoenix, Sacramento and more before concluding November 17 in Kansas City, Missouri.

Amassing an in-depth catalog of achievements, Smith was recently honored with a star-studded tribute concert to celebrate his 35 #1 songs at Bridgestone Arena by a myriad of legendary performers  including: Amy Grant, Vince Gill, Randy Travis, The Oak Ridge Boys, CeCe Winans, Jordin Sparks, Rascal Flatts, Wynonna and many more.

Smith says, “I’m really excited about the 35 Years of Friends Tour this fall. We had an event this spring, here in Nashville, where 56 of my friends and fellow artists came together to celebrate my 35 #1s and the 35th Anniversary of FRIENDS. It was an amazing night – and, for me, brought back some memories of some songs I hadn’t thought of for quite a while!  It’s going to be a blast dusting off some songs I haven’t done in concert for a long time. It will be a night full of all the hits – and, of course, I’m excited to lead worship every night. I can’t wait to see you there!”

The 35 Years of Friends Tour is exclusively produced by Awakening Events, and will provide fans the opportunity to hear these hits and experience worship drawn from Smiths’ recordings and worship anthems from across his career including a live performance of “Friends”.  As Smith was designing this unique show, unlike any tour he has embarked on before, it was decided that he would be his own “opening act,” to spend as much time with the crowd as he could.  Tickets will go on sale this Friday, 6/21 at 10:00 AM local time. More information can be found at michaelwsmith.com or awakeningevents.com.

35 Years of Friends Tour
*all dates subject to change

Thu, Oct 3

Springfield, MO

Gillioz Theatre

Fri, Oct 4

Chattanooga, TN

Tivoli Theatre

Sun, Oct 6

Knoxville, TN

Bijou Theatre

Thu, Oct 10

Texarkana, TX

Perot Theatre

Fri, Oct 11

Birmingham, AL

Lyric Theatre

Sat, Oct 12

Atlanta, GA

Center Stage Theater

Sun, Oct 13

Memphis, TN

Cannon Center for the Performing Arts

Thu, Oct 17

Greenwell Springs, LA

 Greenwell Springs Baptist Church

Fri, Oct 18

Austin, TX

LifeAustin Amphitheatre

Sat, Oct 19

San Antonio, TX

Charline McCombs Empire Theatre

Sun, Oct 20

Oklahoma City, OK

Crossings Community Church

Fri, Nov 1

Arlington, TX

Arlington Music Hall

Sat, Nov 2

El Paso, TX

Magoffin Auditorium

Sun, Nov 3

Phoenix, AZ

Chandler Center For The Arts

Thu, Nov 7

Bellingham, WA

Mount Baker Theatre

Fri, Nov 8

Gresham, OR

East Hill Church

Sat, Nov 9

Sacramento, CA

Crest Theatre

Sun, Nov 10

Anaheim, CA

City National Grove of Anaheim

Tue, Nov 12

Oceanside, CA

New Venture Christian Fellowship

Thu, Nov 14

Layton, UT

Christian Life Center

Fri, Nov 15

Littleton, CO

Mission Hills Church

Sat, Nov 16

Wichita, KS

Orpheum Theatre

Sun, Nov 17

Kansas City, MO

The Folly Theater

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Pinegrove Release New Music Video For “Phase”

Formed in 2010 in Montclair, NJ by childhood friends Evan Stephens Hall and drummer Zack …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.