Monomotion Announces Fujisan, New EP Due 7/26 On FAKE MUSIC, And Shares Lead Single

Monomotion, the project of French electronic musician Erol Engintalay, announces his new EP,Fujisan, due for release July 26th via FAKE MUSIC, and shares lead single, “Ecocline Patterns”.

Stream “Ecocline Patterns” —

A rippling, gorgeous collection of beat-driven compositions that radiate warmth and light, Fujisancompletes the thematic EP trilogy kicked off with 2015’s Behind the Moon and continued with 2017’s Leaving—and it also represents a full-circle for the artist himself, years after surviving a life-threatening accident that he persevered beyond to continue pursuing his artistic passions.

Written and recorded over a year and a half, the seven-track Fujisan is a reflection on the positive aspects of life—a sense of breaking through and moving forward that imbues the project as a whole, from the evocative thump of “Ecocline Patterns” to the squishy, effervescent sway of closing track “Luck of the Mountains.” 

“It’s more shiny, less melancholic—more hopeful for a bright future,” Engintalay explains. “I wanted to get out of my comfort zone and bring some new sounds. I always have the same way of creating. We compose a lot of tracks and then look at the message I want to give through the project. I wanted to close this triptych with a seven-song EP.”

Inspired by a warm Japanese spring, Engintalay describes Fujisan as “a life test after every challenge I’ve gone through, physically and musically. It’s very spiritual, representing climbing mountains and breaking through walls to get further in life.” And Feynman is along for the ride, too; along with contributing to sound and art direction, he lends his talents to the lusciously unfolding tick-tock techno of “Mango.” “He’s always giving me strength to put the final point on the project,” Engintalay enthuses about Feynman’s contributions.

“I’m always trying to bring some faith and hope—it’s always love,” Engintalay explains. “They told me I’d never walk again, and now I’m walking and running. It’s about going through the difficulties of life and challenging yourself to be the best. Sometimes, if you work for it, you can get it. “

Fujisan Tracklist:

01. North Cascades

02. Mango (Feat. Feynman)

03. Seed

04. Ecocline Patterns

05. Fujisan

06. Borders

07. Luck of the Mountains

Pre-order Fujisan —

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Stefano Freddi, welcome to VENTS! Can you tell us about your latest release, Stefano Freddi …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.