French Vanilla Share New Video For “Lost Power,” New Album Out 6/7 on Danger Collective

Los Angeles-based art-punk quartet French Vanilla share a new single / video, “Lost Power,” from their forthcoming album, How Am I Not Myself?, due June 7th via Danger Collective. Following the previously released “Suddenly” and lead single “All The Time,” “Lost Power” is a rumbling, danceable rumination on losing self-identity. The video, directed by Ryan Sluggett, presents an animated collage of drawings, with a staged performance by the band layered throughout.

“‘Lost Power’ is about singer Sally Spitz’s experience feeling comfortable in a relationship that was heteronormative and visible, which began to engender a feeling of lost self. Video director Ryan Sluggett uses the visual motif of lights going out to symbolize the space that darkness creates for private expressions of desire and vulnerability.”

WATCH “LOST POWER” – 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RkOuUN_0BxU

How Am I Not Myself? was recorded at Sargent Recorders studio and engineered and produced by  Sean Cook (who engineered St. Vincent’sMASSEDUCTION). This album sees French Vanilla entertaining and challenging its audience with a seamless fusion of creativity and progressive concepts born of lived experience. Through soaring and addictively catchy vocals, Spitz explores the fears and freedoms of major life upheavals, the drag of gender bias in the creative landscape, and the struggle to psychically survive a sexist and heteronormative society. Ultimately, in How Am I Not Myself?French Vanilla showcases its expansive capacity to generate infectiously danceable tunes while tackling the complexities of identity, imagination and voice from a marginalized perspective.

WATCH “SUDDENLY” –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dU4eNnEsDDk

WATCH “ALL THE TIME” –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=im7xQrCYUZI

PRE-ORDER HOW AM I NOT MYSELF?

https://bit.ly/2Gjfj3n

FRENCH VANILLA TOUR DATES 

Fri. June 7 – Los Angeles, CA @ Zebulon (Album Release Show)

Fri. July 5 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle *

Sat. July 6 – Detroit, MI @ Deluxx Fluxx *

Mon. July 8 – Toronto, ON @ Monarch *

Tue. July 9 – Montreal, QC @ Casa del Popolo *

Wed. July 10 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott *

Fri. July 12 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade *

Sat. July 13 – Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA *

Mon. July 15 – Washington, DC @ Comet Ping Pong *

Tue. July 16 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook *

Wed. July 17 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl *

Fri. July 19 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa *

Sat. July 20 – Houston, TX @ The Satellite *

Sun. July 21 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk *

Mon. July 22 – Dallas, TX @ Regal Room *

Thu. July 25 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar *

Fri. July 26 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar *

Sat. July 27 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theatre *

Sun. July 28 – San Francisco, CA @ Cafe du Nord *

Tue. July 30 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios *

Wed. July 31 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza *

Thu. Aug. 1 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret *

Fri. Aug. 2 – Spokane, WA @ Lucky You Lounge *

Sat. Aug. 3 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux *

Mon. Aug. 5 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court *

Tue. Aug. 6 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge *

Wed. Aug. 7 – Omaha, NE @ Reverb *

Fri. Aug. 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry *

Sat. Aug. 10 – Milwaukee, WI @ Colectivo Coffee *

* w/ Stef Chura

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

ENTER SHIKARI announce the release of ‘MORATORIUM (BROADCASTS FROM THE INTERRUPTION)’

Today, Enter Shikari release Moratorium (Broadcasts From The Interruption), through So Recordings. Listen here: https://linktr.ee/entershikariofficial Out of the blue and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.