FRENCH VANILLA SHARE NEW VIDEO “SUDDENLY”

On the surface “Suddenly” – the second single off French Vanilla’s albumHow Am I Not Myself? (out 6/7 on Danger Collective) –  is an energetic and danceable song, but it’s upbeat nature belies lyrical content that both celebrates and questions nightlife. We go out to be social, overzealously attempting to connect with others, only to wind up in isolation and sometimes substance overuse. There is an internal struggle of being tantalized by the spotlight; wanting to perform, and a simultaneous urge to hibernate from society. Going out, there is sometimes the paranoid feeling of everyone watching you, even when no one is paying attention. Alongside this is the fear of our own behavior being misinterpreted. This song expresses the notion that going out in itself can feel like a performance, accompanied by the feeling of emptiness after it’s over.

For the “Suddenly” music video, Danger Collective connected them with KCRW Web Content Producer PJ Charles. Collaboratively, they fleshed out the idea of a medieval roleplaying fantasy to be set at the infamous Hollywood Castle. A fashion and talent show in the style of the Renaissance Pleasure Faire occur for the viewing enjoyment of the queen (Day) and her court (Trautfield, Shilton). While the jester (Spitz) and her players suffer abuse by the royals, the jester plots in secret the queen’s murderous upheaval in a flamboyant, over the top metaphor for anti-aristocracy and oligarchy.

WATCH “SUDDENLY”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dU4eNnEsDDk

WATCH “ALL THE TIME”

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=im7xQrCYUZI

FRENCH VANILLA TOUR DATES 

Fri. June 7 – Los Angeles, CA @ Zebulon (Album Release Show)

Fri. July 5 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle *

Sat. July 6 – Detroit, MI @ Deluxx Fluxx *

Mon. July 8 – Toronto, ON @ Monarch *

Tue. July 9 – Montreal, QC @ Casa del Popolo *

Wed. July 10 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott *

Fri. July 12 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade *

Sat. July 13 – Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA *

Mon. July 15 – Washington, DC @ Comet Ping Pong *

Tue. July 16 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook *

Wed. July 17 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl *

Fri. July 19 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa *

Sat. July 20 – Houston, TX @ The Satellite *

Sun. July 21 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk *

Mon. July 22 – Dallas, TX @ Regal Room *

Thu. July 25 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar *

Fri. July 26 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar *

Sat. July 27 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theatre *

Sun. July 28 – San Francisco, CA @ Cafe du Nord *

Tue. July 30 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios *

Wed. July 31 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza *

Thu. Aug. 1 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret *

Fri. Aug. 2 – Spokane, WA @ Lucky You Lounge *

Sat. Aug. 3 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux *

Mon. Aug. 5 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court *

Tue. Aug. 6 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge *

Wed. Aug. 7 – Omaha, NE @ Reverb *

Fri. Aug. 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry *

Sat. Aug. 10 – Milwaukee, WI @ Colectivo Coffee *

* w/ Stef Chura

PRE-ORDER HOW AM I NOT MYSELF?

https://bit.ly/2Gjfj3n

HOW AM I NOT MYSELF? TRACKLIST

1.Real or Not

2. Lost Power

3. All The Time

4. Friendly Fire

5. Protective

6. Suddenly

7. Joan of Marc by Marc

8. Bromosapien

9. Move Along, Move Ahead

10. Sensitive (Not Too Sensitive)

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Duran Duran’s Nick Rhodes Collaborates With Wendy Bevan For Second Installment, ‘Astronomia II: The Rise Of Lyra’

Duran Duran’s Nick Rhodes and British artist and singer/violinist Wendy Bevan have released their second album ‘ASTRONOMIA II: THE RISE …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.