JAGWAR TWIN Debut Album Subject to Flooding Out Now

Drawn magnetically to a shared human spirit, Jagwar Twin releases debut album Subject to Flooding today on Atlantic Records. The new video for lead single “Long Time Coming” arrives alongside the album, a fitting introduction to the collective consciousness and worldly alternative sounds of Roy English, the driving force behind Jagwar Twin. CLICK HERE to watch the video that blooms with rebirth and renewal (directed by Emily Elizabeth Thomas) and check out the first look via Paper. Soaring and explosive, “Long Time Coming” sets the stage for Subject to Flooding amidst Roy’s distinctive vocals and a propulsive drum pattern courtesy of Travis Barker. click HERE to stream/download Subject to Flooding.

Produced by S1 (Kanye West, Beyonce, Lorde) and Linus (blink-182, All Time Low), Subject to Flooding sees Roy English emerge as a spiritual monk warrior with a powerful voice and prophet-like poetry paired against a landscape of 60’s style guitars, gritty hip-hop break beats, and flipped MPC samples reminiscent of Dark Fantasy-era Kanye West.

Subject to Flooding is the result of a uniquely collaborative process that will have you seeing the world through a new lens. Life’s duality and the search for this balance and self-discovery is what powers Jagwar Twin – just as one can be flooded with love, flooding can also bring destruction. There are two sides to every story that ebb and flow on a continuum moving ever closer to equilibrium. We are at war with the world; we are at war with ourselves. In letting go, we often find ourselves. As a self-taught singer in high school, Roy was bullied for his vocal tone. Early on he realized that he could channel that negative energy into art and dove deeper into self-exploration through songwriting and production. After a journey of ups and downs in the industry, Jagwar Twin eventually connected with producers S1 and Linus, whose creative energy fused with Jagwar Twin’s vision changed the project for good. With ego removed entirely, this creative and free environment led to highly collaborative, democratic production process which ultimately welcomed contributions from Jeff Bhasker, Travis Barker of blink-182, children’s choirs and more, in addition to mixing by Adam Hawkins (Twenty One Pilots). In letting go, Jagwar Twin discovered that the world is more powerful and inspirational as “we.” With the fragile state of the world emotionally, physically, environmentally, and politically, Jagwar Twin exists to find energy and spirit in our shared humanity.

Subject to Flooding Track Listing:

  1. Long Time Coming

  2. Dream / Dream

  3. Loser

  4. Good Day

  5. Superhuman (Interlude)

  6. Superhuman

  7. Move To You

  8. No Fake Friends

  9. Roy Voice Memo: S1 Arrowhead

  10. Hell of a Night

  11. Hell of a Night Pt. 2 (The Hallelujah Stickup)

  12. Precious Time

  13. Shine

North American Tour Dates:

*with lovelytheband

4/27      Delmar Hall                                       St. Louis, MO

4/28      Varsity Theater                                Minneapolis, MN

4/30      Deluxe at Old National Centre   Indianapolis, IN

5/2        Mod Club Theatre                           Toronto, Canada

5/3        House of Blues                                 Cleveland, OH

5/6        Irving Plaza                                       New York, NY

5/7        Paradise Rock Club                        Boston, MA

5/8        Baltimore Soundstage                  Baltimore, MD

5/9        The Underground                           Charlotte, NC

5/10      Buckhead Theatre                          Atlanta, GA

5/11      Cannery Ballroom                          Nashville, TN

5/13      House of Blues                                 New Orleans, LA

5/15      Historic Scoot Inn                           Austin, TX

5/16      House of Blues                                 Dallas, TX

5/21      The Fonda Theatre                         Los Angeles, CA

5/22      August Hall                                        San Francisco, CA

5/23      Ace of Spades                                    Sacramento, CA

5/25      The Observatory                             Santa Ana, CA

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


“Father O’ Father” (7/16) is the latest single from Fire Follows and showcases a completely different …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.