Home / News / Olden Yolk Share New Single / Video, “Distant Episode”

Olden Yolk Share New Single / Video, “Distant Episode”

Olden Yolk, the duo of songwriters Shane Butler and Caity Shaffer, share a new single and video, “Distant Episode,” from their forthcoming album,Living Theatre, out May 17th via Trouble in Mind.

WATCH “DISTANT EPISODE” – 

https://youtu.be/hKS-ro9GPiE

Following the “warm harmonies, spirited drum fills and bright guitar riffs” (NPR Music) of lead single “Cotton & Cane,” “Distant Episode” is an exploration of disconnection, led by eerie piano and Shaffer’s spectral vocals . The video, directed by Butler and Shaffer, is made of a peculiar collection of black and white movie clips selected from the Prelinger archives.

“‘Distant Episode’ is about rituals of escape, the ties between women, and summoning courage. The title references a Paul Bowles story of the same name, about a linguistics professor whose tongue gets cut out. The video was inspired by a certain time of night, when you can walk down some street and see TV screens flickering on the inner walls of houses.”

Living Theatre is the follow-up to Olden Yolk’s 2018 self-titled LP. Throughout the album, there are moments of stark minimalism and cinematic maximalism, reflective of Shaffer and Butler’s lyrical intimacy and vivid arrangements. The title was inspired by the experimental thespian movement in New York of the same name, in which actors broke from tradition by creating an experience of communal expression. Their songwriting palette takes cues from influences as disparate as avant garde punk, psychedelic folk, and experimental electronic music. After spending a year on the road without a home base, the duo was inspired by both freedom and restriction in their creative practice, and set to record the album in a constrained period of 3 months. They wrote all summer, in a space with no windows, molding private conversations into more expansive works that address concepts of home, spirituality, and ancestry in a contemporary landscape.

Olden Yolk will play their record release show May 16th at Baby’s All Right, kicking off their North American tour in support of Living Theatre. Then, they will continue to tour in the UK.

OLDEN YOLK TOUR DATES

Thu. April 25 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Lodge Room w/ Chris Cohen

Thu. May 16 – Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right (Record release show)

Fri. May 17 – Boston, MA @ Lilypad

Sat. May 18 – Philadelphia, PA @ Jerry’s On Front

Sun. May 19 – Washington, DC @ DC9

Tue. May 21 – Athens, GA @ Go Bar

Wed. May 22 – Atlanta, GA @ 529

Thu. May 23 – New Orleans, LA @ Santos

Sat. May 25 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk

Mon. May 27 – Nashville, TN @ Soft Junk

Tue. May 28 – Nashville, TN @ Grimey’s 12PM In-store

Tue. May 28 – Louisville, KY @ Odeon

Wed. May 29 – Detroit, MI @ Outer Limits Lounge

Thu. May 30 – Chicago, IL @ Hideout

Wed. May 31 – Grand Rapids, MI @ House Show

Fri. June 2 – Cleveland, OH @ Happy Dog

Fri. June 7 – Sonoma, CA @ Huichica Festival

Wed. June 19 – Los Angeles, CA @ Zebulon (LA record release show)

Thu. June 20 – San Francisco, CA @ Make Out Room

Fri. June 21 – Portland, OR @ Turn Turn Turn w/ Adam Torres

Sun. June 23 – Seattle, WA @ Sunset Tavern

Sat. Oct. 12 – Portsmouth, UK @ The Festing

Sat. Oct. 13 – Exeter, UK @ The Cavern

Mon. Oct. 14 – Brighton, UK @ Komedie Studio

Tue. Oct. 15 – London, UK @ Lexington

Wed. Oct. 16 – Bristol, UK @ Louisiana

Thu. Oct. 17 – Birmingham, UK @ Hair & Hounds 2

Fri. Oct. 18 – Manchester, UK @ YES

Sat. Oct. 19 – Oxford, UK @ Ritual Union Festival

WATCH “COTTON & CANE” 

https://youtu.be/cICiAlzVHag

PRE-ORDER LIVING THEATRE

https://bit.ly/2FGtjE4

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Myoa Drops New Music Video For “Starpower”

Myoa has returned with the release of her new music video for “Starpower.” Watch here …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.