Home / News / Honeyblood Premiere New Single & Video “She’s A Nightmare” via Stereogum; New Album Out 5/24

Honeyblood Premiere New Single & Video “She’s A Nightmare” via Stereogum; New Album Out 5/24

Honeyblood have today shared “She’s A Nightmare,” the latest single and video from their upcoming third album In Plain Sight – out May 24 on their new label home Marathon Artists. Watch here

Directed by Ashley Rommelrath, “She’s A Nightmare” depicts a period-dressed, witchy, ritualistic summoning. Dancers and contortionists appear out of thin air while Honeyblood’s frontwoman, an elegantly-dressed Stina Tweeddale, stares the camera dead in the eye.”

Honeyblood will also be returning to the US next week to play new songs for fans for the very first time with an all-new full live band. On April 22nd they will play Baby’s All Right in Brooklyn and then The Echo in LA on April 23rd.

The Ashley Rommelrath-directed video for “She’s A Nightmare” was shot on location at one of London’s most extraordinary, exclusive and haunting venues, Simon Drake’s House of Magic. Built over 20 years ago by prominent world-renowned magician Simon Drake; he has since established an outlandish hub of entertainment and creativity whilst keeping it shrouded in mystery. The mansion is rarely open to the public and is crammed with fascinating curiosities, collections of haunted memorabilia and automata collected and made by Drake himself. The perfect setting for “She’s A Nightmare.”

Explaining the motivations behind “She’s A Nightmare” and its brilliant accompanying video, Tweeddale said: “After months of touring my last album Babes Never Die, I finally came home to rest and developed increasingly vivid and frightening night terrors. At one point they were a weekly occurrence – the same figure would visit me each time hell-bent on either strangling or just plain scaring me to death!”

That very same ghostly figure features heavily in the track’s video – a grisly, contorted woman brought into being during a seance with Tweeddale and friends. Tweeddale continues, “After learning much more about how night terrors are manifested, I was intrigued to learn that the brain cannot conjure a face out of nothing. The woman who visits me in my dreams was a real person I have seen while I’ve been awake. I wrote “She’s A Nightmare” about our strange relationship and however frightening, I am absolutely captivated by her.

Honeyblood’s new album sees Stina Tweeddale finding her most ambitious form and steely focus yet. Three albums in she has stepped forward to claim the project she created seven years ago as a her sole vision.

Full of big, bold, songwriting and no longer content to be tied to one limited genre, In Plain Sight is woven with mysterious themes of illusion and deception; Tweeddale describes the album as “one big trick”. Being hoodwinked never felt so exciting. Echoing that sentiment, for the album’s stunning artwork, Tweeddale researched optical illusionists and met Peruvian visual artist Cecilia Parades, who eventually agreed to painstakingly paint her into the ornate fabrics seen on the cover across two eight hour sittings.

Tweeddale takes the reins in collaboration with super-producer John Congleton (Angel Olsen, St Vincent, Sharon Van Etten) for the most definitive Honeyblood LP to date – as sonically gung-ho as peak era Garbage, or the modern day likes of St Vincent – and consolidating the Glasgow-born band as one of the most important names in U.K. indie.

In Plain Sight is out on 24 May 2019 via Marathon Artists and is available to pre-order now as download, CD and LP via www.honeyblood.co.uk.

1. She’s A Nightmare

2. The Third Degree

3. A Kiss From The Devil

4. Gibberish

5. Tarantella

6. Take The Wheel

7. Touch

8. Glimmer

9. You’re A Trick

10. Twisting The Aces

11. Harmless

See Honeyblood live in the U.S. at the following dates:

4/22/19 – Baby’s All Right – Brooklyn, NY

4/23/19 – The Echo – Los Angeles, CA

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


The Hold Steady have released a new song, “You Did Good Kid,” the second new …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.