Home / News / French Vanilla Announce New Album, Out 6/7, and Share Lead Single / Video

French Vanilla Announce New Album, Out 6/7, and Share Lead Single / Video

French Vanilla – the feminist, art-punk quartet of Greg Shilton (drums),Ali Day (guitar/bass), Sally Spitz (vocals), and Daniel Trautfield(bass/sax), announce their sophomore album, How Am I Not Myself?, outJune 7th via Danger Collective Records. In conjunction with today’s announcement, they share the lead single / video “All The Time.”

WATCH “ALL THE TIME” 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=im7xQrCYUZI

French Vanilla got their start playing queer punk parties around Los Angeles. They became mainstays at seminal DIY spaces like the Smell and Pehrspace. Influenced by cult, female-fronted post-punk acts, the band partnered with Danger Collective Records in 2017 for their “glossy, unapologetically political” (Bandcamp, Best Albums of 2017) self-titled debut. Since its release, their captivating stage presence and avant-garde stylings have earned them coveted bill pairings with headliners such as ESG, Shonen Knife, the Make-Up, Priests, Chastity Belt and Bow Wow Wow, as well as tour slots with California music scene comrades Girlpool, Shopping, Surf Curse, Wavves, and Joyce Manor. French Vanilla thrives on a shared sense of humor, a glue that keeps the group together. Hardcore fans avidly follow the band’s ambitious reality show parodies and mockumentaries, produced via Instagram stories while on tour.

How Am I Not Myself? was recorded at Sargent Recorders studio and engineered and produced by  Sean Cook (who engineered St. Vincent’sMASSEDUCATION). This album sees French Vanilla entertaining and challenging its audience with a seamless fusion of creativity and progressive concepts born of lived experience. Through soaring and addictively catchy vocals, Spitz explores the fears and freedoms of major life upheavals, the drag of gender bias in the creative landscape, and the struggle to psychically survive a sexist and heteronormative society.

Ultimately, in How Am I Not Myself?French Vanilla showcases its expansive capacity to generate infectiously danceable tunes while tackling the complexities of identity, imagination and voice from a marginalized perspective. Lead single “All The Time” is a saxophone-infused self-actualization. The accompanying video, directed by Kailee McGee, presents Spitz as a focal point, donned in various, vibrant costumes in eccentric settings as she creates an online profile.

“’All the Time’ relates singer Sally Spitz’s experience leaving a long-term heterosexual relationship to be with a woman she fell for while the band was on tour. The song is about realizing and coming to terms with multi-faceted sexual identity; in making herself vulnerable to change and upheaval, a world of desire moved into view. The band focused on creating a strong, memorable chorus, bringing a greater pop sensibility than their previous work.”

French Vanilla play their record release show June 7th at Zebulon. Then, they will embark on a North American tour as support for Stef Chura.

FRENCH VANILLA TOUR DATES 

Fri. June 7 – Los Angeles, CA @ Zebulon (Album Release Show)

Fri. July 5 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle *

Sat. July 6 – Detroit, MI @ Deluxx Fluxx *

Mon. July 8 – Toronto, ON @ Monarch *

Tue. July 9 – Montreal, QC @ Casa del Popolo *

Wed. July 10 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott *

Fri. July 12 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade *

Sat. July 13 – Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA *

Mon. July 15 – Washington, DC @ Comet Ping Pong *

Tue. July 16 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook *

Wed. July 17 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl *

Fri. July 19 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa *

Sat. July 20 – Houston, TX @ The Satellite *

Sun. July 21 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk *

Mon. July 22 – Dallas, TX @ Regal Room *

Thu. July 25 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar *

Fri. July 26 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar *

Sat. July 27 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theatre *

Sun. July 28 – San Francisco, CA @ Cafe du Nord *

Tue. July 30 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios *

Wed. July 31 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza *

Thu. Aug. 1 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret *

Fri. Aug. 2 – Spokane, WA @ Lucky You Lounge *

Sat. Aug. 3 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux *

Mon. Aug. 5 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court *

Tue. Aug. 6 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge *

Wed. Aug. 7 – Omaha, NE @ Reverb *

Fri. Aug. 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry *

Sat. Aug. 10 – Milwaukee, WI @ Colectivo Coffee *

* w/ Stef Chura

PRE-ORDER HOW AM I NOT MYSELF?

https://bit.ly/2Gjfj3n

HOW AM I NOT MYSELF? TRACKLIST

1.Real or Not

2. Lost Power

3. All The Time

4. Friendly Fire

5. Protective

6. Suddenly

7. Joan of Marc by Marc

8. Bromosapien

9. Move Along, Move Ahead

10. Sensitive (Not Too Sensitive)

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

JASON TYLER BURTON RELEASES SINGLE, “HIGH ROAD TO HARLAN”

“High Road To Harlan”, the new single from Americana musician and songwriter, Jason Tyler Burton, tells …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.