Joanne Shaw Taylor Releases Music Video For “The Best Thing”

Today, British guitar siren and dynamic songwriter Joanne Shaw Taylor has released the new radio mix by acclaimed producer/mix engineer Mark Needhamand music video for the swaggering lead single “The Best Thing” from her forthcoming studio album Reckless Heart, out on May 17th viaSilvertone/SonyCLICK HERE to watch the video and check out Billboard’s first look. Inspired to write a mid-tempo soul song after seeing Chris Stapleton in concert, Joanne wrote the hook in an Uber on the way home, and the song, which confidently puts a lover on warning for not committing, was completed by the next morning. CLICK HERE to stream/download.

With a singular voice that will stop you in your tracks, Joanne Shaw Taylor will be unleashing her new album in the U.S. where audiences have been discovering her formidable talent that has already blazed a path of overseas acclaim. Reckless Heart is available now for pre-order. CLICK HERE and receive instant downloads of “In The Mood,” “Break My Heart Anyway,” “Bad Love,” and “The Best Thing.”

Featuring Joanne’s smoky rasp that rises from the legend of soul greats, Reckless Heart finds her in glorious form and a mischievous mood, one minute bearing her claws with catty lyrics and the next deliriously in love. Illuminating all the corners of her firecracker personality, Reckless Heart was borne out of a newfound openness and confidence that can only come with life experience. Both a make-up and a break-up album, it was written by Joanne during two phases of a relationship: the fall out and getting back together. The 11-song collection explores emotions ranging from blaring anger to flirty love, from the rollicking “In The Mood” and the gritty, gospel-tinged “Reckless Heart”to the gorgeous, acoustic guitar-led “Break My Heart Anyway” and the unplugged gem “Jake’s Boogie,” recorded entirely live.

Reckless Heart Track Listing:

1. In The Mood

2. Reckless Heart

3. The Best Thing

4. Bad Love

5. I’m Only Lonely

6. Creepin’

7. I’ve Been Loving You Too Long

8. All My Love

9. Break My Heart Anyway

10. New 89

11. Jake’s Boogie

Joanne Shaw Taylor 2019 Tour Dates:

May 11                                 Phoenix, AZ @ MIM

May 17                                 Columbus, OH @ Rumba Café

May 18                                 Westland, MI @ The Token Lounge

May 20                                 Chicago, IL @ City Winery

May 21                                 Kent, OH @ Kent Stage

May 23                                 Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live

May 25                                 Fall River, MA @ Narrows Center for the Arts

May 26                                 Boston, MA @ City Winery

May 28                                 New York, NY @ Iridium

May 30                                 Alexandria, VA @ Birchmere

May 31                                 Greenville, NC @ State Theatre

June 1                                   Raleigh, NC @ Lincoln Theatre

June 3                                   Nashville, TN @ City Winery

June 5                                   Atlanta, GA @ City Winery

June 6                                   Chattanooga, TN @ Songbirds North Stage

June 7                                   Louisville, KY @ Headliners Music Hall

July 8                                    Montreux, Switzerland @ Montreux Jazz Festival

July 13                                  Lancashire, United Kingdom @ Lytham Festival

July 20                                  Sioux Falls, SD @ Sioux Falls JazzFest

July 21                                  Minneapolis, MN @ The Dakota

July 26                                  Sisters, OR @ Sisters Rhythm & Brews Fest

August 9                              Delafield, WI @ Waukesha Rotary Blues Fest

August 10                           Duluth, MN @ Bayfront Blues Festival

August 16-21                    Barcelona, Spain @ Keeping the Blues Alive at Sea

September 5-8                 Las Vegas, NV @ Big Blues Bender

September 13                   Colorado Springs, CO @ Pikes Peak Center

September 14                   Telluride, CO @ Telluride Blues & Brews

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Up-and-Coming LA Hip-Hop Group’s Debut Release

The up-and-coming hip-hop group based out of Los Angeles has dropped their debut single, “Double …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.