24-year-old singer, songwriter and rapper Collard reveals today the incredible video for his recent single ‘Ground Control’ with Kojey Radical, directed by Joseph Shaw and Eseosa Ohen.


“The ‘Ground Control’ visual is a depiction of me battling with my own demons and feelings as if I’m forever followed and seduced by a devilish, Mephistopheles like character (Kojey Radical)” Collard explains. “Through many conversations with my creative directors (Eseosa Ohen & Joseph Shaw) we all agreed we wanted to take a more theatrical route in terms of the production to extenuate as much as possible the feeling of danger & self-enabled helplessness which led me down the destructive path the song is based on.”

‘Ground Control’ song is another example of Collard’s innovative, loose and genreless approach to songwriting, and exemplifies his status as one of the UK music scenes most essential new artists. Listen here

Born just outside of South London, his music feels like a refreshing departure from the algorithmic trend-chasing that has come to dominate today’s music scene.
Following some writing in LA, he self-released the songs “Sofa” and the Prince-esque “Ode”, which blew up after a sensual COLORS session in 2017. Both have since amassed over a million streams each.

‘Ground Control’ follows Collard’s recent single ‘Warrior Cry’ which opens with glass-like electric pianos before Collard’s tender and raw falsetto introduces itself amongst warm R&B beats, with lyrics about personal vulnerability and allowing oneself to be rescued.  You can watch the cinematic video for it here,directorial debut by long term creative collaborators Joseph Shaw and Eseosa Ohen.

Today also Collard announces the release of his debut album titled ‘Unholy’. The record is the culmination of over two and a half years work and endless recording sessions to create a stunning artist statement that lays bare his desires, faults and obsessions in equal measure. In an age of ever expanding albums ‘Unholy’ is refreshingly succinct and focused but this is only the beginning for Collard. “‘Unholy’ is just the first chapter,” he reveals. “I’m already thinking about the next one.”

‘Unholy’ is a unique calling card in today’s musical landscape and signals the arrival of a major songwriting talent.

“Unholy” Tracklisting:

1. Hell Song

2. Greyhound

3. Murder Murder

4. Warrior Cry

5. Sacrament

6. Ground Control

7. Merciless

8. Vultures

9. Blood Red

“Unholy” is released in May 2019 via Lost Ones/ Virgin EMI.

“Ground Control” is out now.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Valencia James Releases “All The Waves”

New York born, Sydney bred dark-pop artist Valencia James is making music for those in …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.